Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2011, 06:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


how do i repair/replace. should i run another board along side the damaged board ( I just bought the house this was on my inspection)

gunslinger7966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 06:11 PM   #2
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,164
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


Picture?

__________________
XXX
Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bud Cline For This Useful Post:
gunslinger7966 (04-11-2011)
Old 04-11-2011, 06:16 PM   #3
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


You would be surprised how often I see this. Like Bud said. a picture would be best.
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to canadaclub For This Useful Post:
gunslinger7966 (04-11-2011)
Old 04-11-2011, 06:34 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


sorry did not take a picture but I will. I plan on moving in this weekend. there are pictures on my inspection report but I don't know how to post them

Last edited by gunslinger7966; 04-11-2011 at 06:47 PM. Reason: didnt fully explain
gunslinger7966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 07:05 PM   #5
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


here is a thread to help

How to Upload Photos - A short Guide
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 09:26 PM   #6
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,164
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


I see it done a lot also. There is more than one way to screw up a floor joist and more than one way to fix it. A picture would be great.
__________________
XXX
Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 08:21 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


gunslinger7966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 08:55 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


For this issue, I would just cut another floor joist of similar size and fasten directly to cut joist. I would do this for several reasons. One, if the room above has a tile floor, you will see the floor star to crack at the grout lines because of the deflection in the floor. Two, if the floor joist was cut at the top or bottom of the joist, not just a hole or cut in the middle 3rd of the joist, you better play it safe. I have seen many problems with cut joists. Make sure to re-set any bridging if there is any currently in the area of the cut. Some people and contrators will sometimes just screw in a steel gusset plate that locks in both sides and still allows the plumbing to be clear of any plumbing features. One last consideration is where the cut is made to the joist, if it is in the center of the span of the joist you will have a great deflection or "sagging" issue. Play it safe and prevent future problems above the joist. Good luck!
Jblood is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jblood For This Useful Post:
gunslinger7966 (04-22-2011)
Old 04-22-2011, 09:00 AM   #9
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


I can't open the pic
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:22 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ****off
Posts: 25
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


Quote:
Originally Posted by gunslinger7966 View Post
how do i repair/replace. should i run another board along side the damaged board ( I just bought the house this was on my inspection)
Since this issue was on your home inspection can you talk to your attorney about getting this fix through the seller of the home, or is that a forgone conclusion?

You can try sistering the floor joists so it looks like this, two boards that are similar to your floor joist, and have 3-4 feet on both side of the damaged section, then run carriage bolts through all three boards.


Tangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tangelo For This Useful Post:
gunslinger7966 (04-22-2011)
Old 04-23-2011, 03:12 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Default

floor joist has been cut in too to install plumbing


sory I think the file size exceeded the post limit. I am not very good with computers so why the picture didn't appear I dont really know but I sistered the joist and it apears to have worked (no more squeeky floor.)

gunslinger7966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plumbing vent (Stack) leak lizziefl Plumbing 26 02-11-2012 08:11 PM
Plumbing Disasters Contest - Win a TOSCA Faucet for your Kitchen! Nathan Plumbing 48 07-06-2010 07:55 PM
Install Plumbing system to the floor MagicalHome Plumbing 5 05-13-2010 02:09 PM
Can I install 3/4" HW on top of the rolled floor membrane there now? davevarga Flooring 3 03-09-2008 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.