Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2014, 11:04 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,304
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Flat cut in 3/4" thick wood for glue join?


I'm trying to learn how to glue join small wood strips into a large one.


I've been doing some test pieces and have found that when I cut small pieces with my miter saw the cut end is never a nice flat edge, it almost has a slight cup to it. So when you join the pieces there is always a gap at the seam.

What am I doing wrong? Wrong type of blade? Just don't use a miter saw for test pieces? I haven't tried it with my table saw yet because I was just messing around at first, but so far my results have been not so great.

My miter saw seems to be square, it's almost like the blade is wobbling as it cuts. I am using a 60 tooth 10" blade to cut oak strips to about 4" wide sections.

Anything I need to do to get a nice flush cut that can be glue joined? Or anything I can do to prep before I do tests on my table saw? Blade types to use, etc?

__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 12:53 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,524
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Flat cut in 3/4" thick wood for glue join?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBSH View Post
......when I cut small pieces with my miter saw the cut end is never a nice flat edge,.......
Small piece dimensions and wood type? Also moisture content?

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 07-30-2014 at 12:58 PM. Reason: typo
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 01:22 PM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,524
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Flat cut in 3/4" thick wood for glue join?


Moisture Meters can prevent problems:
http://www.thisiscarpentry.com/2011/...ers/#more-9253
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 01:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,562
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Flat cut in 3/4" thick wood for glue join?


What brand of blade is it that your using, and your cutting oversize and not to final dimension right???
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 02:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,304
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Flat cut in 3/4" thick wood for glue join?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Canarywood1 View Post
What brand of blade is it that your using, and your cutting oversize and not to final dimension right???
Right now these are just small test about 4x4x3/4" blocks so right now it doesn't have a final dimension as they are just test scraps.

I just have a cheap 60 tooth kobalt blade right now, I know it's not high end, don't have TONS of money to sink into stuff
__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 05:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,562
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Flat cut in 3/4" thick wood for glue join?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBSH View Post
Right now these are just small test about 4x4x3/4" blocks so right now it doesn't have a final dimension as they are just test scraps.

I just have a cheap 60 tooth kobalt blade right now, I know it's not high end, don't have TONS of money to sink into stuff


Well until you upgrade your blade, you can expect cuts like you have, until you get a better blade on your saw you will continue to have problems like blade wobble.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 07:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,304
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Flat cut in 3/4" thick wood for glue join?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Canarywood1 View Post
Well until you upgrade your blade, you can expect cuts like you have, until you get a better blade on your saw you will continue to have problems like blade wobble.
what would you recommend for a 10" blade? I was looking at a $60 max budget don't want to go nuts
__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 08:40 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,562
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Flat cut in 3/4" thick wood for glue join?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBSH View Post
what would you recommend for a 10" blade? I was looking at a $60 max budget don't want to go nuts


For your budget this blade will work, not top if the line but I think your cut will improve a great deal.


http://www.rockler.com/freud-10x30-t...Q#product-tabs

Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smooth walls with flat paint...looks weird to me? TOTALN00B Painting 3 04-25-2011 05:42 AM
Install a deck on top of a EPDM flat roof. -Pjackso Roofing/Siding 16 08-02-2010 03:35 PM
Flat roof repair/replacement questions zmt Roofing/Siding 4 02-23-2010 11:24 AM
prepping old wood for painting newb questions afabco Painting 19 08-07-2008 11:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.