First Timer On Trim, Need Some Tips. - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-25-2012, 09:06 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

First timer on Trim, need some tips.

Hello,
As the title states, i'm a newbie attempting trimwork.
Here's a short story,
Me and my buddy did some small reno's to my newly acquired condo, we did ceramic tiles and bamboo floors as our initiation to renovation.

Now that the floors are done, i'm trying to decide on what to do with my casings.
I have attached pictures of one casing that i've tried with two different style of header (the top part of the casing). And to be honest, none of them work for me. I'm trying to go for a modern style of trim, with clean lines, and cuting the casing at 45 degre angle is not really my style.
Maybe you guys can shimme in and give me some input. Right now i'm thinking of putting a large and flat piece on the top of the door casing.

1st pic - Plinth block with casing, and a mock up piece of casing as a baseboard to give the intended look. The baseboard is the same style, except 2 inches higher. Just give an example.

2nd pic, what it looks from far back.

3rd pic, up closer, it look weird where where the horizontal meets the vertical piece. Again, not looking at making a 45 degree cut.

4th pic, i flipped the top piece, again, this looks odd to me.

Other option that i'm considering is the following.
https://elitetrimworks.com/skin1/ima...ed_casings.jpg
or maybe just a flat piece of mdf,

What would you guys recommend.
Thanks again.
Syl

Advertisement

laflsyl10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 10:12 AM   #2
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Rewards Points: 2,000