Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-13-2011, 11:28 PM   #1

Share |

first attempt at crown molding

hello this is my first attempt at crown molding. i am a super newbie. i have no tools for the job and i am in the process of getting them. here is what i have on my to buy list so far. i am looking to buy these tools this weekend and start the project next week,

here the air compressor ia am looking at. i have someone selling one for $40 down the street from my house but havnt pulled the trigger yet because i have no idea what i am doing..

http://www.harborfreight.com/air-too...sor-95275.html

heres the finishing gun i am looking at
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...28&R=100670928

and my ceiling is 9'-0 so im planning on using 6" molding. i am stuck on the mitre saw portion because i dont know what i need so any suggestion on that or anything else i would apreciate it. i know my items are pretty much bare minimum which is ok because i will not have any bigger projects than this. for now. i want to spend around $100-125 if possibble for a saw and could go up on the gun like $10 if it makes sense.

so once again suggestion, concerns. thanks

MANNY74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:21 AM   #2

Not enough space here for a detailed explanation. There are good books on trim carpentry at book and home stores. Look up crown molding procedures, and learn about coping for inside angles.

That 18 ga nailer is a bit light for what you propose. Keep in mind you have to go thru the molding, the wall finish(drywall or plaster) and into wood framing. 16 ga or even 15 ga is better. Consider the Paslode nailers, not hose or cord to drag around.

You will need a good miter saw, preferably a compound miter. For that size molding, it almost has to be a 12" saw.

Last edited by Just Bill; 06-14-2011 at 06:24 AM.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote