Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-30-2013, 08:37 PM   #1

Share |

Fire door in existing wall, bedroom to garage?

Hi y'all,

I need to put a fire door in an existing wall separating a garage from a bedroom. The garage side of the wall is stucco, the interior is drywall. My main concern right now is making sure I install it correctly to keep the fire rating intact. Do I need to put in extra insulation around the door?

I'm going to use a pre-hung 90 min fire rated door, but i'm going to have to move some studs around, put a header in, and all that in the existing wall. I have never done this before. Words of wisdom, advice, necessary things I must do with out fail? This is all happening in SoCal.

Thanks

Azul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:22 PM   #2
journeyman carpenter

your not allowed to have a doorway going from a bedroom directly into a garage as per fire code..

woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:03 PM   #3

Oh, we'll so much for that.

So, there is another wall I could use from the garage to the laundry room. Its a clean wall, the dryer and washer are on the oppesite side, just won't be as convienient. Same questions apply.
Old 02-01-2013, 06:32 PM   #4
Retired from the grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodworkbykirk
your not allowed to have a doorway going from a bedroom directly into a garage as per fire code..
Actually it no longer becomes a bedroom, but a living or working area. Plus you have to remove the closet doors.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.