Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-18-2010, 09:46 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Fabricating curved wood beams for bridge

I am just looking for any advice/tips on putting together some wood beams for a bridge I am building. The bridge is roughly 30 ft long and will be 4ft wide. I am looking to have it arc up about 2 ft or so. I was thinking of using 3 sets of doubled up 2x12's. I would think that is enough but am open to suggestions. I need to know how to go about getting a pattern and what technique I should use. I am a sheet metal worker by trade so wood is not my thing but I dont want a flat bridge. Any and all advice welcome. thanks.

abraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 09:44 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by abraham View Post
I am just looking for any advice/tips on putting together some wood beams for a bridge I am building. The bridge is roughly 30 ft long and will be 4ft wide. I am looking to have it arc up about 2 ft or so. I was thinking of using 3 sets of doubled up 2x12's. I would think that is enough but am open to suggestions. I need to know how to go about getting a pattern and what technique I should use. I am a sheet metal worker by trade so wood is not my thing but I dont want a flat bridge. Any and all advice welcome. thanks.
Are planning a bridge without a center support?

As a metal worker, you probably know how to weld. Using steel would be much simpler.
Get an I beam, cut it into sections, on a slight angle. Turn one section over and weld it together, to form an arc.

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 09:52 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500

You could build a clamping form and use 1 by material and glue to make a laminated beam.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hayewe farm For This Useful Post:
Willie T (06-21-2010)