Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2011, 10:30 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 39
Share |
Default

electric cable to detached garage


I'm running electric cable from the house to the garage. Is it against code to enter the garage with the cable next to a door?

bmorekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 10:35 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,168
Default

electric cable to detached garage


No but you need to have it in gray PVC and an LB where it enters the building.
I'm aware you did not ask this but, what size wire did you run? How far under ground did you run it?
What type wire did you run.
You do plan on having a panel in there, right?
If it's detacted your going to need two ground rods.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 10:49 AM   #3
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caldwell, NJ
Posts: 1,758
Default

electric cable to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bmorekid
I'm running electric cable from the house to the garage. Is it against code to enter the garage with the cable next to a door?
Call your building department and ask them. You need permits and inspections anyway. Were you planning on getting them?
__________________
Joe Carola
Joe Carola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:11 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 39
Default

electric cable to detached garage


UF cable 2 gauge 3 wire with ground to a subpanel. why do i need two ground rods?
bmorekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:29 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,168
Default

electric cable to detached garage


It's code now in VA, I believe they need to be at least 2' apart.
The last three garages I built it was checked for by the building inspector.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 12:08 PM   #6
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caldwell, NJ
Posts: 1,758
Default

electric cable to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bmorekid
UF cable 2 gauge 3 wire with ground to a subpanel. why do i need two ground rods?
Another question you should be asking your building department. You getting permits and inspections....or will you avoid this question again and plan on doing electrical work illegally.
__________________
Joe Carola
Joe Carola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 03:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 39
Default

electric cable to detached garage


is it considered illegal? didn't know that to be honest. maybe i will. what kind of consequences do i face without it? didn't mean to ignore you. thanks for your response and help.

bmorekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In theory: expand attached garage, or add detached garage? hyunelan2 Building & Construction 5 11-09-2012 05:34 PM
changing location of electric service to the detached garage from the house. marlowc2 Electrical 3 06-12-2011 11:30 PM
Detached Garage sirsparksalot Electrical 16 10-18-2010 01:34 AM
wiring 100A to detached garage snowman Electrical 4 11-28-2009 04:53 PM
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.