Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-13-2008, 01:03 PM   #1

Share |

duct work framing

Hello to all.

I am new to renovating and am finishing a basement that is aprox 625 sq. ft. comprised of a utility room and a family room with hallway to the stairs.

We have framed out the exterior walls and the wall dividing the utility room to the family room, but are now working on the last short wall that will contain the door to the utility room.

The wall will be 6ft 8 inches long. The issue we are having is that all the duct work is running in this area (which is why we chose to enclose it into the utility room) It leaves us with about a foot of space to run some sort of framing to the floor joists which are running parallel to the wall we need to construct. What complicates the matter is that there is the main laminated beam running through this area parallel to the duct work hanging 4 inches lower than the duct work.

So the duct work is perpendicular to the floor joists, but parallel to the beam. The wall will be parallel to the floor joists, perpendicular to the beam.

How do we frame the wall here to accomodate the need of a door. Is the distance short enough to build a wall that is relying on the two side walls that it is attached to to be strong enough to take the movement of a door opening and closing, or do we need to hang another joist off of the beam, build a soffit and then connect to that? Essentially what would be the best way to deal with this.

What we do know is that this room needs a door to meet their code requirements. This was the only location for the door as there are sets of teleposts in the utility room and or appiances that are on the long wall.

We are framing in steel studs, which in this case around the door will be filled with 2x4's to add stability for the prehung door frame to attach to.

Thanks kindly in advance.