Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-19-2011, 04:40 PM   #1

Share |

"DIY wood countertop" - is it really DIY?

To put this in context (and so y'all will forgive my lack of woodwork knowledge) I am a housewife but would love to consider myself a handyman part time! I want to make a wood countertop for my kitchen island. I found a company that makes "DIY wood countertops" and I want to try my hand at it but I am concerned about the finishing/cutting process.

I want to have a sink cut out and can use the jigsaw for that presumably but I have very little experience. I would also finish it with their recommended finish (waterlox tung oil).

Has anyone on here ever used the Craft Art DIY wood countertops? Are they really solid wood? Can you really do the finishing touches yourself without a wood shop? Here is a link to their DIY stuff.

http://store.craft-art.com/index.php...parent=35&pg=1

and here are their recommended finishing instructions
http://www.craft-art.com/wp-content/...s-08112011.pdf

Have you used them? Do you know anyone who has? Do you think little old me can really DIY a wood countertop/wood island top?

Thanks in advance!
Beth
ranchmakeover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 06:08 PM   #2
DIY staff

I have bought butcher block tops from L.L. Johnson in Michigan and from Owl Hardwood in Illinois and cut sanded and finished them ---It's wood---they are not difficult to do unless you have a mitered corner.

You will need a jigsaw for the sink cut out --I would use a Circular saw and use the jigsaw for the corners because its faster,but you could do the entire cut with a jig saw.

A tip---make the four long cuts leaving a bit uncut in each corner ---(to support the cut out) then nip out the four corners.