DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

"DIY wood countertop" - is it really DIY?

4K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  ranchmakeover 
#1 ·
To put this in context (and so y'all will forgive my lack of woodwork knowledge) I am a housewife but would love to consider myself a handyman part time! I want to make a wood countertop for my kitchen island. I found a company that makes "DIY wood countertops" and I want to try my hand at it but I am concerned about the finishing/cutting process.:confused1:

I want to have a sink cut out and can use the jigsaw for that presumably but I have very little experience. I would also finish it with their recommended finish (waterlox tung oil).

Has anyone on here ever used the Craft Art DIY wood countertops? Are they really solid wood? Can you really do the finishing touches yourself without a wood shop? Here is a link to their DIY stuff.

http://store.craft-art.com/index.php?p=catalog&parent=35&pg=1

and here are their recommended finishing instructions
http://www.craft-art.com/wp-content/uploads/downloads/2011/09/Craft-Art-DIY-Finishing-Instructions-08112011.pdf

Have you used them? Do you know anyone who has? Do you think little old me can really DIY a wood countertop/wood island top?

Thanks in advance!
Beth

See less See more
#2 ·
I have bought butcher block tops from L.L. Johnson in Michigan and from Owl Hardwood in Illinois and cut sanded and finished them ---It's wood---they are not difficult to do unless you have a mitered corner.

You will need a jigsaw for the sink cut out --I would use a Circular saw and use the jigsaw for the corners because its faster,but you could do the entire cut with a jig saw.

A tip---make the four long cuts leaving a bit uncut in each corner ---(to support the cut out) then nip out the four corners.

A random orbit sander (or an old pad sander) will make fast work of smoothing out the surface.

#3 ·