Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-01-2011, 06:36 AM   #1

Share |

DIY Carpentry Newbie

Hey there!

I am planning on creating a wooden table top to sit on our kitchen island at home. I have lots of amateur DIY experience but not much dealing with wood or carpentry.

My hope is to order a large enough piece of hard wood that will overlap the kitchen island by 1 foot on each side. The underside of the wood will be plained down so that it sits on the island neatly without any fixings.

Can anybody recommend what type of wood I should be looking for? Also is plaining the center of the wood the best option for hard wood or should I use some type of power tool?

Thanks,

Mark

markdublin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 07:00 AM   #2
Experienced

DIY Carpentry Newbie

Welcome Mark, to the best DIY'r site on the web.

Is the idea of this top to stay on all the time, or to be dropped on when needed?

Either way, you would be better served, at least on the edges to make it fit right over the existing top, to use a router in conjunction with a guide. I guess you could continue with the router to take all the material out of the center 3/4" of material wide at a time or a power planer.

Sounds like a good idea for a butcher block slab.

Mark

Old 02-01-2011, 07:03 AM   #3

DIY Carpentry Newbie

Yeah, a butchers chopping block is how it might end up looking

The idea is for the top to stay on for good, and become like a kitchen table. The island itself would work to eat at except it has no overhang so you have to lean really far forward to be over your food.

A power planer, I'll definitely have a look for one of those, save my power elbows. Thanks. Any ideas on what type of wood I would look for? Have found several local companies that source custom cuts of wood, I just have to pick the type I want.
Old 02-01-2011, 07:06 AM   #4
Experienced