DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Custom with Cabinet help

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  gjones 
#1 · (Edited)
Need help with custom medicine cabinet door

I don't know if this is the right forum, but I thought it might be the best. Anyhow, I am looking for some help with a mini project I am doing in my bathroom during my renovation. I do not like any of the medicine cabinets I can afford for a few reasons, and I am building one in the wall behind a mirror that has been chosen.

The mirror is framed with molding on the top and bottom that is screwed to the frame. My intentions are to take the molding off and attach it to the wall and use the framed mirror itself as the door to the medicine cabinet. A friend of mine told me that it would not work, which inspires me even more to make it work.

My question(s) to all of you are in regards to the type of hinges I should use, attachment points, etc. I am relatively new to this type of carpentry, but in no means afraid or in lack of skill. I was thinking 3 hinges to support the weight, one of which I would like to be a soft close.

The wall the mirror will be attached to has a full 2x4 box built for the rough opening of the medicine cabinet, and there are double 2x4s for the mirror to be anchored to. The outside of the medicine cabinet I was planning to border with 1x3 so that the mirror would have room away from the wall to open.

I have provided a picture of the mirror and will provide pictures of the wall itself tomorrow.

I do realize that this will not be easy, and I do realize that I will probably fail at some point in this and have to redo something, but its something that I want to do. I appreciate any help anyone can give. Thanks!

Graham

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
sorry I don't have your answer but have been wanting to do the same, actually looks like we have the same mirror.