Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2013, 04:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 51
Share |
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Hi all.
We aren't quite sure how to go about installing/cutting the crown molding for the cabinets pictured below. Any pictures/instructions I see online, the center cabinet sits out further than the side cabinets. |How do we neatly join the crown on the side cabinets without a gap?


soberjulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 04:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 51
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


The picture....I think.
Attached Thumbnails
Crown molding on kitchen cabinets-1241838_618148174882905_977853271_n.jpg  


Last edited by soberjulie; 08-31-2013 at 05:12 PM.
soberjulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 04:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 51
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Apparantly....Im not quite sure how to go about attaching an image either :/
soberjulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 05:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 730
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


-write text.....
-manage attachments
-browse
-upload

Was your photo a .png? Although it says .png is an allowed file type, that is not the case. .png does not seem to work.
Attached Images
  
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SPS-1 For This Useful Post:
soberjulie (08-31-2013)
Old 08-31-2013, 05:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,608
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


http://www.diychatroom.com/faq.php?f...b3_attachments
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 05:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 51
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


I did it Picture is now above
soberjulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 08:06 PM   #7
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Usually, you just butt the top cabinet crown molding into the back drywall...... and butt the lower cabinet crown moldings into the sides of the center cabinet since the center cabinet usually sits 4-5 inches forward of the side (lower) cabinets... It generally better accommodates a microwave or hood that way.
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T

Last edited by Willie T; 08-31-2013 at 08:10 PM.
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Willie T For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (09-01-2013)
Old 08-31-2013, 10:20 PM   #8
K&B Designer
 
Live_Oak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis,. TN
Posts: 348
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


As Willie T alludes, the center cabinet should be 3" deeper if you wanted crown molding. When you vary height, you also have to vary the depth of the cabinets.

Like this.


Or else you end up with an unsightly molding return. Like this one, only without the creative solution that they found to the problem.



If your KD designed this and knew you wanted crown, then he should replace the center cabinet with a deeper one free of charge as it's an incorrect cabinet design with crown.
Live_Oak is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Live_Oak For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (09-02-2013)
Old 09-01-2013, 07:52 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 51
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Hehe.....there will be no replacing 'free of charge' since we bought and installed the cabinets ourselves

So....now we are thinking we can move the center cabinet out 3" but are toying with how to brace that center cabinet to the wall and will it be solid enough for the otr microwave? Plus making sure it won't cause an issue to vent the microwave outside.
Ha! Happy wifey here loves the cabinets as they are, it's hubby that really wants the crown.
soberjulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 09:05 AM   #10
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 20,425
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Where is the vent for the microwave?

Is it possible to open the wall and install a 3 1/4 x 14 inch flat duct behind the drywall?

That is a nice feature as it keeps the cabinet above from being cluttered up with a steel duct---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
soberjulie (09-01-2013)
Old 09-01-2013, 09:51 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 51
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


The microwave can be vented from the top or back, hubby is just measuring now to see if we can run the duct inside the wall
More cupboard space is always a good thing!
soberjulie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to soberjulie For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (09-01-2013)
Old 09-01-2013, 10:51 AM   #12
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 20,425
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Quote:
Originally Posted by soberjulie View Post
The microwave can be vented from the top or back, hubby is just measuring now to see if we can run the duct inside the wall
More cupboard space is always a good thing!
See if you get lucky----if the stud bay is open---good news.--if a stud is in the way---bad news.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 12:39 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 51
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Well, no such luck. There's a stud in the way.
Oh well....I have 4x the cupboard space in my new kitchen compared to the old. Having that cupboard as a useful one would have just meant shopping for more kitchen junk anyhow

I think I've got hubby talked into nixing the crown. That way, we install the venting and otr microwave today.
One step closer to a finished kitchen
soberjulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:26 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,197
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Live_Oak View Post
As Willie T alludes, the center cabinet should be 3" deeper if you wanted crown molding. When you vary height, you also have to vary the depth of the cabinets.
Or else you end up with an unsightly molding return. Like this one, only without the creative solution that they found to the problem.



If your KD designed this and knew you wanted crown, then he should replace the center cabinet with a deeper one free of charge as it's an incorrect cabinet design with crown.
thanx. i am designing my cabinets right now. and i, nor the CAD guy, took this into account.


they count just space it out the 3".


OP. i say do the crown. it just doesn't look right without it.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:20 AM   #15
Not so new
 
12penny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 919
Default

Crown molding on kitchen cabinets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
thanx. i am designing my cabinets right now. and i, nor the CAD guy, took this into account.


they count just space it out the 3".


OP. i say do the crown. it just doesn't look right without it.

Agreed. Looks unfinished. I've done it as shown in the second picture of post #8. Only the homeowners and I really notice it. Not the best way but better than no crown.

12penny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crown Molding on Cabinets Kjm25bball Carpentry 6 05-13-2012 07:34 PM
My new kitchen needs a facelift (oak cabinets have to stay) EclecticMom Interior Decorating 3 02-12-2012 09:45 PM
Now the fun part! Crown molding on cabinets round II petros151 Carpentry 21 01-19-2012 02:44 PM
crown molding and chair rails hollyjo213 Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 2 10-02-2009 12:56 PM
My Kitchen Floor-Problems!!! Please Help!!! Fat b Flooring 3 01-25-2007 03:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.