Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-28-2010, 04:10 PM   #1

Share |

Crown Molding - Angles & Filling in gaps

Partly due to the fact that the walls aren't straight and corners are whacko, and mostly because I'm a novice, I'm going to need to fill some gaps on my crown molding project. What is the best brand and type caulk to use? Also, somewhere I read to use non-shrink spackling to fill the nailholes instead of caulk. What is non-shrink spackling?

artlover13060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 04:29 PM   #2

Gaps of 1/8 +/- can be filled with a latex caulk. I use Dap 35 year latex caulking. Non shrink spackling has little or no water. It's the evaporation that causes the shrinking. There's a spackle that's in a black and orange can (name escapes me) that is terrific. It's sold at Home Depot among other places.
I'll post the name when I find the can.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 12:03 AM   #3
(the original)

ratherbefishin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 04:25 PM   #4

I have used drywall mud to get the best results. Grab a bag of 20 minute mud, mix up a small batch and patch away. Once it dries, go over with sandpaper, prime and paint. Your seams will become invisible.
unlvrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 05:28 PM   #5

Can someone please explain these angles to me? The settings on my compound miter saw have crown molding miter at 33.9 with a preset bevel (measurement evades me off the top of my head.) In any case it seems to work but that math doesn't add up. If the walls are 90 degrees, 33.9 + 33.9 doesn't add up to 90. I know I should stop thinking so much but it is making me crazy.
Old 08-29-2010, 06:56 PM   #6
KemoSabe

You not thinking in terms of the spring angle of the molding.