DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Cordless Tools

9K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  DecksEtc 
#1 ·
Obviously I know I will in time be buying cordless tools, I wanted to know what minimum voltage you all recommend and what brands you like? I am completely new to carpentry, trying to get a job with a big co. in my city. So I'm just trying to learn what I can.

Thanks,
Sean

#2 ·
Hello Sean and welcome,

I use several cordless tools. Dewalt, Bosh, Sears. One thing I have learned the hard way is I should have gone with one brand. The batteries will work together and you don't end up with several charges to carry around.
I find for drills 14 volt is a good choice for me. They are faily light and have enough power to do what I need. Deck screws etc. Battery lasts a couple of hours while the other ones charge. I have both a Dewalt and a Bosh drill and I kinda lean towards the Bosh. It seems to have a bit more control. If I need to drill some large holes or allot of them I use the corded. In regards to saws, the bigger the better. I have a set from Sears. Sawsall and small circular 19.5 volt I believe, and while they do the one or two piece job the batteries don't last long enough between charges.
I would stay away from things like Rayobi and B&D unless all you need is an occasional use.
Good luck.

#3 ·
The best choice in power tools (cordless or corded) is Ridgid.

My work shop was outfitted with Delta & Porter-Cable stationary power tools until 3 years ago. I sold all of my D & P-C tools and bought ALL Ridgid tools.

Now I have replaced all my portable power tools with Ridgid.

If you are planning to get into carpentry full time, I suggest 18v minimum. These will give you the driving, drilling, and cutting power you need. Anything less then 18v don't last long enough on the job.

Ridgid also has the best warranty & battery replacement guarantees.

Good luck on your job search! :)

#4 ·