Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-18-2009, 07:28 PM   #1

Share |

Coping Crown Molding in So Cal

I am a newbie with light experience getting set to hang crown molding throughout my home. It has all the challenges, including cathedral ceilings, high walls, bullnose outside corners, and even a curved area that I belive will require a custom order rubber molding. They were glued with Titebond.

I have done one small rook, a "powder room" with some 130 and 90 degree inside corners. Nothing was coped but the longest wall was 5 feet. As it is paint grade mdf and a tad of caulking was used, it came out great. I understand that inside corners of pieces hung on longer walls are more likely to open up with time.

My house is in Southern California inside of the coastal zone. I mention this because Gary Katz mentions in one of his DVD's that you have to clone inside corners, unless the crown is short, UNLESS you are in Southern California. I hear a lot of people saying cope ALL inside corners.

I have a very accurate compoound miter saw and I think I have learned to use it properly. Thanks Mr. Katz.

I was all set to lay down $24.97 for a Collins Coping Foot, until I talked with Mr. Collins and learned it won't work with my 18 year old Sears Sabre Saw. I don't know if I want to invest in another jig saw. I believe some cope with a jig saw without a special coping foot.

I have a coping saw, which is an alternative. One other possibility is the "EasyCoper". I believe some of you have experience with it. It looks as thought it's use may be limited to 90 degree inside corners. No?

Other methods I have read about include augering out the backside with grinders and even a table saw. How you do it on a table saw is beyond me.

Suggestions, please.

Klawman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 07:48 PM   #2
DIY staff