Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-06-2012, 06:03 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

China Cabinet Restoration

Hi everyone, I'm new on this forum. Quick intro - I'm a piano tuner/tech/restorer by trade, and occasionally do French polishing to pianos & old items of furniture. I'm not sure if this post is in the right subject, but here goes!

I have been asked to restore an old china cabinet; I reckon its early 1900's with ball & claw feet, crescent shaped with 2 curved glass panels and a centre curved door - the glass has 2-3 beading trims with a finnial pattern on the top. Also each shelf is fitted with a lace fabric. The wood finish looks like a dark oak with occasional black brush strokes to simulate a grain....I suspect its a fake colour.

My query is about the wood finish/ shellac. I have stripped most of the polish off, and revealed different woods - some is mahogany, not sure about the lighter wood.... could be cedar? When I stripped the polish off, it left no traces of the colour or stain on the wood.

My question is.... is there a kind of french polish product with an all-in-one wood colour aswell? I dont think staining the wood will make much difference. In parts, the colour is dark oak, and in other areas it looks like mahogany or rosewood effect.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Gratefully received

Colin

Colin Nicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 06:48 PM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 2,916

Coln--you are into experimental waters here--sounds like the original was shellac with a faux finish then a clear coat---

There are poly finishes with color in them---but they are are nasty to work with.

You may wish to replicate the original--shellac--then a color glaze--then top with clear.

Time to break out the artists oils and some linseed oil--

Old 07-06-2012, 07:27 PM   #3
Craftster

Rewards Points: 77