Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2009, 11:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Chimney Mantel Installation?


I want to install a nice thick piece of wood on top of my chimney to finish it. This is exactly the way it was when I bought the house, therefore I do not know how the old piece if any was installed on this chimney. I am not sure if this is also called a mantel correct me if not. I have attached pictures of what I have at this point. I am not sure if the wood piece I want to add on top would be screwed from the top or glued...or how this should be properly installed. Any help? Any link where a similar installation is done?
Attached Thumbnails
Chimney Mantel Installation?-chimney-before-mantel-001.jpg   Chimney Mantel Installation?-chimney-before-mantel-001-1-.jpg  

gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 12:44 PM   #2
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Chimney Mantel Installation?


Three questions.
What total size (thickness, width, and length) mantle piece do you intend to use?
Is that top section pictured solid, able to be drilled into to mount something?
What is behind the wall above; is there good material to drill into there?

HERE is a link, by the way.

Have you considered building a hollow, box-like mantel that only "looks" big and heavy? No one would know, and you would not have a big weight problem. It's much cheaper, too.

__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T

Last edited by Willie T; 05-09-2009 at 12:51 PM.
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 01:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Chimney Mantel Installation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie T View Post
Three questions.
What total size (thickness, width, and length) mantle piece do you intend to use?
Is that top section pictured solid, able to be drilled into to mount something?
What is behind the wall above; is there good material to drill into there?

HERE is a link, by the way.

Have you considered building a hollow, box-like mantel that only "looks" big and heavy? No one would know, and you would not have a big weight problem. It's much cheaper, too.

1. Total thicknes would be 1.5 inches
2. The base (white part) is 61" long by 5" deep, I would like to have the piece extend 3.5" inches over the edge of this base. Therefore the piece would be 68" long by 8.5" deep.
3. I am not sure what is behind the drywall, I seem to have a 2 to 3 inches gap between drywall and the chimney wall.
4. The white base shown in picture is all brick, therefore it should be very solid.

Could I drill the piece directly on the the base then?. If so, do I need to use "expander" for brick (if that is what this is call) and what type of bolts and size do you recomend?
gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 04:18 PM   #4
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Chimney Mantel Installation?


Actually, the simplest way to do it is to drill two or three 5/8" holes in the bottom of mantel, about 2" back from the rear edge of the wood. Then cut a piece of #4 rebar (3" long) for each hole. Epoxy those into the holes, and give them a day or so to set up.

Now drill matching 5/8" holes in the top of the shelf where the mantel is going. Check to see that the rebar goes all the way into each hole by setting the mantel up there. Pour some epoxy in each hole, set the mantel in place exactly as you want it to be, put a few heavy items on it to hold it in place, then just leave it alone for a couple of days.

When it sets, the mantel will be locked in there like it grew there, and nothing will show anywhere.

The reason to use rebar is because of the ribbing on the bars. It grips the hardened epoxy like a vise.

You can get epoxy for rebar setting in caulking gun tubes at your masonry product supplier. About 10 -15 bucks. They also might cut you the 3" rebar pieces too.
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T

Last edited by Willie T; 05-10-2009 at 03:10 PM.
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chimney Confusion (Long) wehcyar Building & Construction 7 09-03-2008 09:09 AM
New chimney / furnace information CowboyAndy HVAC 1 05-17-2008 06:40 AM
Roof Leak Around Chimney robertr4836 Roofing/Siding 3 03-11-2008 11:23 AM
Looks like leaking around the chimney - roofer says it is the chimney itself Salvatorparadise Roofing/Siding 6 03-07-2008 03:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.