Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2008, 03:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range?


Hi guys I have a question, i'm installing some crown molding at the top of my kitchen cabinets but ran into a problem. The hood range is at the same level as the top of my cabinets. I tried stopping the Crown at the Hood Range but unfortunately the crown "cap piece" goes to far into the Hood range. I then tried to put the "cap piece" right next to the hood range but this now pushes my molding further out exposing the cabinet. I went ahead and ran straight temporarily but would like to find out if anybody has any ideas on how to cut this so it looks good. Any help is greatly appreciated. Pictures posted below
Attached Thumbnails
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range?-picture-010.jpg   Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range?-picture-009.jpg  

gate1way2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 04:22 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range?


That's a challenge. So the hood stands a little proud of the face of the sheetrock?

The only thing I can think of is to slightly overlap the hood, and do a 90* mitered (outside corner) return into the front face of the hood. It would have to overlap the hood just a couple inches. You would cut the miter and glue the small return piece on the longer piece of crown before nailing any of it up. Once assembled you can use a sharp chisel or jigsaw to remove a little material from the bottom part of the crown where it gets pushed out by the hood...That way it mates tight to the cabinet.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 10:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range?


do u have a cabinet designing software
jameschacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 11:13 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jameschacko View Post
do u have a cabinet designing software
Why??
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.