Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-26-2012, 11:13 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Built-in Corner Shelf Unit

Hello

I am trying to figure out how to build this built-in shelf unit. Attached is an image of the shelf unit. I am also including a sketch I have put together on how I am thinking of approaching it. I have never done this before but am very curious how one would build it. In my mind, I see 2 separate pieces. There is the bottom half and then the top half. Based on the drawing I provided, am I approaching it in the correct manner? Is the main shelf unit made of 2x4s? I am then guessing that the wood for the shelves is ¾ plywood. For the front surfaces, I see some wainscoting but what is the other type of wood on the front of the unit? Once complete, I am guessing you just spray it with a white paint. Any feedback you have is appreciated and I looked online for designs but was unable to find any helpful ones… if someone had a link on how to build a similar unit, that would be amazingly helpful.

Thanks in advance for your time and knowledge.
Attached Thumbnails
Built-in Corner Shelf Unit-corner-shelf-doors.jpg   Built-in Corner Shelf Unit-shelf-sketch.jpg  

VikingDinKC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 11:31 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 66

There is no 2 X 4's needed for a cabinet like that.
That bead board is simply bead board paneling cut to size.
I like to preprime and paint all my panels with a foam roller first.
What tools do you have?
Your going to need a table saw, router, Kreg tool, and it would be best to have a finish nail gun.
Might want to stop by Lowes and pick up a book or two on cabinet building.
Way to many details to explain it all on here.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:02 AM   #3