Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-23-2010, 10:02 PM   #1

Share |

Building a simple long desk/bench

Hiya

Im looking to put together a very simple long desk. Specs are 5' in length and 24" 24". The rough diagram should give you a better picture:

Front and Back (ignore the period)
-------------
.l.......l.......l
-------------

Side
-------
.llllllllllll
-------

It going to be used for indoor only. I live in Socal so I dont think moisture is that much of a problem.

I Dont have any power tools at disposal so nails and screws are out of the question. My only option is glue, lots of them I assumed. Im going to have the wood cut by Lowes, no saw. Also Im going to stain them for aesthetic sake. Im thinking a medium to dark shade. I have little to zero experience w/ this so I'll like opinions, hints, tips, suggestions wat/ever to go about it the right way.

For wood Im thinking pine panel from Lowes, unless suggested otherwise.

For glue, what you guys suggest or just get wat/ever fit my need?? Atm Im thinking Gorilla Wood Glue

If I go w/ pine then I should do a pre-condition first before staining right?

Also, the surface of the pine panel Im looking at arent exactly silky smooth so that means sandpaper before the condition??

This is probably a no brainer but you put everything together first before staining it right??

Please let me know

Ahura-sama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 08:07 AM   #2
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

Take some of the free (or very inexpensive) classes offered by the Big Box stores or local community colleges. There is too much of the "basics" that you will need to learn to be covered here.

Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 02:10 PM   #3