Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-02-2011, 09:23 PM   #1

Share |

Brand New Maple Cabinets...Stain?

I am new to woodworking/cabinetry but am doing pretty well. I have built speaker boxes for years and have great tools but actually doing custom cabinets is much different.

My question is I have just re-done my entire kitchen with Maple hardwood fronts and Import Maple Plywood sides/shelves. I want to stain the cabinets dark like the (Minwax Bombay Mohagany Color).

My questions are is what do I need to know and what do I need to do to achieve this?

Any input appreciated!

thanks

cbrdolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 06:30 AM   #2

If the wood is prefinished, or finished, you can't stain them. And veneers are usually too thin to strip and sand down fot staining. Minwax makes a product called Polyshades, poly with stain mixed in. I have never had satisfactory results from it, but you could try it on some scrap pieces. It tends to pool and the pooled areas are darker.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:22 AM   #3

You might want to re-post this in the painting section of this web site for a better response...........................not that just bills response was bad. Just the fact the you will get more responses.

mark942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 10:35 AM   #4

thanks ill try that
cbrdolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:29 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrdolby View Post
I am new to woodworking/cabinetry but am doing pretty well. I have built speaker boxes for years and have great tools but actually doing custom cabinets is much different.

My question is I have just re-done my entire kitchen with Maple hardwood fronts and Import Maple Plywood sides/shelves. I want to stain the cabinets dark like the (Minwax Bombay Mohagany Color).