Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2013, 05:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 575
Share |
Default

Bottom plate and notched studs


I have a wall (non-load bearing) that is about 20 feet long. There were some leaks previously and a section of the bottom plate (about 8' long) is partially rotted. Now that I have fixed the leak I am attacking the partically rotted bottom plate.

Since the wall is not load bearing, it is not too tricky. I used a sawzall to cut slice across the bottom of each stud, then I used a long flex blade to cut through the hard nails. Those hard nails are tough, they used that to attach wood to the concrete slab 40 years ago? Manual hammering?

So I was able slid out the old bottom plate and put in a new one.

Now the problem is there was an ice maker line that runs the entire length of that wall along the bottom. They notched the bottom of each stud like this.



I have since redone this line so it goes up the attic over and down so now I have 14 studs every one of them notched like this. Whoever cut them notched quite a bit more than necessary.

My question is if I should do something about these notches? I am trying to decide between three approaches:

(1) Do nothing since it's non-load bearing, just attach the studs as is back to the new bottom plate. Done.

(2) Attach the studs back to the new bottom plate. Cut a short piece to fit snuggly between each pair of studs and attach it to the top of the bottom plate.

(3) Carefully cut the bottom of each stud shorter by 1.5" eliminating the notches completely and slide a new piece of 2x4 under, basically doubling the bottom plate.

Comments?
miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:51 PM   #2
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Default

Bottom plate and notched studs


Check with the AHJ first. They may not approve of some of the ideas.
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 575
Default

Bottom plate and notched studs


If I do nothing at all (option #1), then I have restored it back to it's original condition.

Options 2 and 3 will strengthen the wall some.

Just not sure if it's even necessary if it's not a even load bearing wall.
miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:48 PM   #4
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,736
Default

Bottom plate and notched studs


Willie T is spot on, check with your building department. our opinions while valuable to ourselves is of no value to them.
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 575
Default

Bottom plate and notched studs


I wanted to make sure my post wasn't misunderstood.

I wasn't asking if it's OK to notch the studs to run a 1/2" water line along it. I agree if that's the case it would be a question for the building department.

The notches were put in 40 years ago. The line was ran 40 years ago, all approved and permitted. I have rerouted the line so now I have a series of notches at the bottom where it meets the plate.

I am just asking while I have the sheet rock off should I do something to strengthen it. I haven't altered anything structurally.
miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 07:15 PM   #6
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,406
Default

Bottom plate and notched studs


Why dont you just get rid of the old plumbing and run full studs? You said the line was dead, right? Unless I dont understand?
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 575
Default

Bottom plate and notched studs


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
Why dont you just get rid of the old plumbing and run full studs? You said the line was dead, right? Unless I dont understand?
The old plumbing line has been removed. That line ran 20' along the top of the bottom plate, hence I have over a dozen notched studs. Now the line goes up the attic, across and back down.

You are suggesting I knock down the 20' wall and build a new one?
miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:27 PM   #8
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Default

Bottom plate and notched studs


Pull the line, then sister on maybe 18" to each stud? If it will help you sleep better.
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-Studding Old Wall Pittsville Building & Construction 38 07-13-2012 01:08 PM
Notched Sill Plate a_lost_shadow Building & Construction 4 05-05-2012 03:36 PM
Framing an unfinished basement captainobvious Building & Construction 7 10-16-2009 09:53 AM
Reinforcing notched double top plate pmoe Building & Construction 28 01-24-2009 10:16 PM
OK to drill holes in top plate to run conduit? troll5501 Carpentry 4 05-11-2008 08:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.