Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-28-2008, 01:09 AM   #1
wilderstyle

Rewards Points: 75

beadboard

Hi, I am a newbie from California. Just checking if anyone has some tips on installing beadboard? My application will not have room for the base and trim pieces that can be purchased. I am installing it as a backsplash in a kitchen and a bathroom. The countertop is laminate. In the kitchen I was planning on not using the trim and just using caulking at the base where it meets the counter. Any ideas?

wilderstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:57 PM   #2
Handyguy

Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik

beadboard

It depends if its individual boards or sheets. If individual boards you will have issues with finding studs for your nails. You can use construction adhesive or install horizontal blocking. If sheets you will nail into the studs. When using individual boards you nail into the tongue at an angle so the nail head is covered by the next board.

Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 01:06 AM   #3
wilderstyle

beadboard

I hate to admit it, but it is not wood. I am project managing a house makeover for the sale of the house. I needed some cheap backsplash source that would cover the area where I pulled out the tile. It is from the big box store and has the look of beadboard with the tongue and groove pieces. I bought some adhesive tubes for kitchen and bath. Will that be enough to hold it?
Old 10-30-2008, 05:35 AM   #4
the Musigician

Rewards Points: 2,000

beadboard

i should think so....

DM
Old 10-30-2008, 07:42 AM   #5
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT

Rewards Points: 1,000

beadboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilderstyle View Post