Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-16-2006, 09:18 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

bathroom and beadboard

remodeling small bathroom. i have taken the wall tiles off and want to put up beadboard . of 5 contractors/handmen 3 said yes-but, 2 said no. yes-but want to put in individual stiles (for more control). small room - only 5x6 - i want to do myself and planned on using wood beadboard from home depot. cut, prime and glue/screw on. any problems with this idea? how best to cut.

tanksmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:12 AM   #2
carpenter

Rewards Points: 10

bathroom and beadboard

I am a pro builder. I see no problem running 4' sheets of pre primed bead board if properly installed. For diy cut with a circular saw if you are comfortable. A special panel adhesive is available that works very well. But it is very important that there is no directt water contact to the bead board. And in a bath that size it is imperative that the board(s) are sufficiently caulked so that steam that gathers on walls will not leak behind the bead board. Post again with any questions.

nailbanger138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 01:52 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 25

bathroom and beadboard

I guess this topic is a little older but just incase your still looking: