Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 05:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

axis line


Ive got a small job to lay out and the exterior walls are old and covered in plaster.I want to get an axis line so i can pull alot of measurements off it.
Whats the best way to go about this?

THX

ron08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:21 PM   #2
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,189
Default

axis line


If you’re trying to find a stud pull off a outlet cover and it’s probably on the left side of the box. You can pull a layout from there.

__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Default

axis line


Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikfishron View Post
If youíre trying to find a stud pull off a outlet cover and itís probably on the left side of the box. You can pull a layout from there.

No thats not the prob.Im laying out the plan,im going to snap lines on the floor for building walls for rooms and hallways.I just want a good straight line from 1 end of the floor to the other.The exterior walls are old and are not the best to pull measurements off and i dont think there stright either
ron08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:24 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

axis line


The baseboard should be nailed directly on the plaster grounds, the straight board (horizontally) at the top of floor line to screed the wet plaster to. The studs were usually green or rough milled with the plaster varying in thickness according to the window jambs, door jambs, and plaster grounds used with the lath. Use a laser square if fine tuning that close.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 07:29 AM   #5
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,189
Default

axis line


Quote:
Originally Posted by ron08 View Post
No thats not the prob.Im laying out the plan,im going to snap lines on the floor for building walls for rooms and hallways.I just want a good straight line from 1 end of the floor to the other.The exterior walls are old and are not the best to pull measurements off and i dont think there stright either
I’d pull a string line across the room where I think is should be then take multiple measurements off different points in the room adjusting the string until I was satisfied then pull another string 90 deg to that and there you go.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom

Last edited by kwikfishron; 10-09-2010 at 07:51 AM.
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 03:10 PM
Add natural gas line Tukeeman Plumbing 11 12-01-2008 07:53 AM
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 03:16 PM
Electric Line Under Ground Crazy Legs Electrical 9 04-15-2008 10:07 PM
Mutiple phone line needs an answering machine Densplace Electrical 5 04-04-2008 10:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.