Applying Crown Molding - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-27-2007, 07:18 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 150
Question

Applying Crown Molding

I'm a newbie, been hanging out in the paint room but now I'm ready to apply some crown molding. It's a pretty straight-forward application, just an oblong room.

My measurements indicated the walls are less than 1/4" difference on both the long side and short side.

Does anyone have any pearls of wisdom to share? I do have a mitre box kit.

Advertisement

shapeshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 07:32 PM   #2

Talking

Applying Crown Molding

I should have added that I'm not using regular crown molding, I want to apply the molding to the wall at the ceiling height. I think the kind of molding I got is casing. It's not fancy.

Advertisement

Old 01-27-2007, 08:34 PM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

Rewards Points: 2,000

Applying Crown Molding

If you are dead set on using the trim that you have purchased, I would suggest that you cut shallow rabbets into the back of the trim. Cut about 1/16" -1/8" in depth about every other 1/8" in distance. I would also suggest that you experiment with this technique a little to get it just right.

This takes away some of the ridgidity in the trim's stock and allows it to bend slightly. This is standard practice in the industry when attempting to bend most materials.

Also, you should use an adhesive when applying the actual trim work to the wall.

..... Other than that, I would suggest that you consider MDF or composite based trim work since it is more flexible.

Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 01-27-2007 at 10:38 PM. Reason: misspellings
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 08:45 PM   #4
remodeling pro

Rewards Points: 500

Applying Crown Molding

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlanticWBConst. View Post