Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2007, 02:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Air ducts


Hi
I want to install a return duct on my first floor house. I have a heat pump and my return on the first floor is on the celing leaving the floor cold. To get a return low I need to fish it through a wall. To do this I have to cut through the top sill plate from the floor above and fish it down through the wall to keep me from having to cut through celing.
Is it ok to cut out a top plate on a wall to allow me to run ductowrk from a close above? I want to make sure I do not do structural damage.

brtims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 08:30 PM   #2
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Default

Air ducts


Completely removing a section of the top wall plate would be a no no. You may get away with it or you may create some serious structural issues, just depends on the exact framing situation. But even so, a stud cavity is only going to give you a 3 1/2" x 14 1/2" cavity to run a return duct down. Even if you could utilize every inch of the space, you would have less than 16 sq. inches of return, not nearly enough, as it sounds like this is serving an entire level of your home.

troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:52 AM   #3
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Air ducts


What he said ^^^^^

Could you give up part of a closet to make a return duct chase?
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 07:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Air ducts


the closet is the asy part. I am doing that from thw attic through the closet. The next step is where the question comes from. Once in the closet how do I get to the floor level of the room below without opening up the ceiling?? I want it to run through the wall down to the floor wil I have a retrune vent in the wall. From thje closet down the only way to the floor in the room below is through the op of the framing. The upstairs closet does not line up with any closets in the level below. I alrady have one return in the celing on the first floor (through closet) but for heat I need a return low on the first floor. Right now my floor is freezing as I feel the heat get sucked up via the ceeiling.
brtims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 10:27 AM   #5
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Air ducts


When I said closet I mean 1st floor closet. If you cant do a 1st floor closet maybe you could come down the corner of a room or even along the wall then box around the duct with sheetrock. That will depend on how much space you have, and are willing to give up, in the area of the first floor.
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 12:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 108
Default

Air ducts


Why not just put it in the floor? Thats how it was done for 50 years or more!

Nick
AllGoNoShow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 10:23 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 276
Default

Air ducts


You can also use the cavity between the studs from an un-insulated wall. If you make the opening towards the floor, just cap off the top with a 2x4 between the studs.

Jeekinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How far should insulation be from heating ducts... AllGoNoShow Remodeling 4 11-09-2006 05:47 PM
Using PVC ducts instead of standard ducts robertmazzo HVAC 3 10-05-2006 04:26 PM
Going from 4" to 6" ducts Lynn HVAC 3 07-15-2005 04:12 PM
Installing Central Air using existing heat ducts lvlacic HVAC 2 06-25-2005 12:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.