Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-30-2009, 01:08 PM   #1

Share |

Adding New Windows

Hello,

I hope I explain this right.

I am going to be adding two windows on a wall where no windows currently exist. I have never done this before. This is for a rustic cabin in northern Wisconsin. I have 2X4 walls and T-111 as my exterior siding. No sheathing underneath. The windows are double hung vinyl exteriors with wood interiors.

My question is after I have framed the rough opening and when I cut the hole for the window do I cut it flush with the inside surface of the jack stud or do I cut it a little bigger than that to allow for the nailing flange? I was thinking I could just cut the hole flush with the jack stud and nail the flange right against the T-111 and then trim over that. My trim is going to be real simple butt jointed cedar like the rest of the cabin. Also is it best to run a bead of caulk or something similar for the nailing flange to “sink into?”

The other question is about flashing. Depending on how I do the above, what is the proper way to flash? Can I just flash right over the T-111?

I hope this makes sense

Thanks.

Tom5151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 05:55 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Adding New Windows

nothing you do will seal a window with your plan. Flashing needs to be below what ever is above it. The window flange needs to be behind the siding. Sooo... remove the T-111 panels, install the windows, tuck the flashing under the tyvek or felt paper, seal the flanges with window rubber flashing. caulking is used behind the flanges, but is not required. Then install the T-111 siding. You can remove the siding by driving the nails through or pulling them out.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:04 AM   #3

Adding New Windows

Is there any tyvek or felt paper under the T-111?