Adding Moulding To A House With Plaster Returns? - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-12-2011, 01:57 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 39

Adding moulding to a house with plaster returns?

Hi everyone, I hope you can help point me in the right direction(s). Please feel free to correct me if I use the wrong terminology, I am here to learn.

We bought a house built in 1958 that has all plaster returns instead of moulding. All the walls are white. We intend to add color to all the walls, different colors in different rooms. We agree that adding moulding would really modernize the look. How much trouble is this going to be? I'm a pretty handy fella but I have no experience in this area.

I don't think I'll have any trouble installing trim, my trouble is in the design aspect- I'm not sure of the proper way to go about this.

I have many specific questions, but let me start off with this one. We have what I would call an archway between the dining room and living room. These rooms will be different colors so I thought there should be white moulding around the archway to create a border of sorts. Should I line the inside edges of the archway with 1/2"x5.5" boards to create something like a door jamb and then add the case moulding around the edges?

I've attached a photo of what I'm calling the archway. Is it common to add moulding to these?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Adding moulding to a house with plaster returns?-dsc01270.jpg  

Advertisement

pick1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 07:23 AM   #2
Ole Wood Worker

Rewards Points: 2,824