Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2009, 08:26 AM   #1
Member
 
kimberland30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


I hope this is the right place to post this.

I'm going to be adding crown to the tops of our cabinets. My question is that the cabinet above our fridge is higher than the ones next to it. How do I go about ending the crown on the cabinet next to the 'taller' one? If I do it at a full 45 degree angle, I won't be able to open the door to the cabinet above the fridge. Is there a trick to this?

I've looked at several pictures on line but can't get a close up enough of what was done.

Thanks for any help you can offer!

kimberland30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 08:31 AM   #2
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


Put a return on it if you want to end it there.

ARI001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 09:00 AM   #3
Member
 
kimberland30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


Well that is my question. If I cut the piece at a 45 degree angle, I won't be able to open the cabinet door above the fridge.
kimberland30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:15 AM   #4
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


Can you post a picture? I think I understand what you mean now, but I would like to see to verify.
ARI001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 11:17 AM   #5
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


Is it anything like one of these?
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Crown to Cabinets-ele1.jpg   Adding Crown to Cabinets-wc1.jpg   Adding Crown to Cabinets-wc2.jpg  
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 11:19 AM   #6
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


The third picture would be ideal, but it sounds like you might have a situation similar to pic #2.
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 12:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


If you have something similar to pic #3, crown would be as follows:
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Crown to Cabinets-wc2crown.jpg  
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 12:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


If the fridge cabinet is flush (same depth) as the other cabinets like in pic #2, you'll want to do your crown similar to this. Notice the block (in red, for clarity) that is drawn in so you don't have a gap at the crown return, which you will have in order to leave enough room to open the fridge cabinet doors.

Obviously, you would paint/stain the red block the same color as the crown.

Depending on how close the open door (at least 90 degrees when open) is to the crown top, you may want to put a clear stick-on bumper on the crown top.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Crown to Cabinets-rnd1.jpg   Adding Crown to Cabinets-rnd1b.jpg   Adding Crown to Cabinets-rnd1c.jpg   Adding Crown to Cabinets-rnd1d.jpg   Adding Crown to Cabinets-rnd1e.jpg  

Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 01:01 PM   #9
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


You can order a filler strip that matches the cabinets and attach it to the top rail of the cabinet using the same method you would use to attach it to the stile. Then return it like jay shows in the fourth diagram of the last post.
ARI001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:58 PM   #10
Member
 
kimberland30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding Crown to Cabinets


ARI001: I went home during lunch to take photos, then left the camera at home. But Jay123 got it. We just painted the cabinets so it won't be a problem matching what we have.

Jay123: Perfect, you gave me just what I was looking for. Thank you for drawing those up for me!

While at lunch I realized that one of the cabinets in our kitchen (full length) is about 1/2" taller than the others. We'll have to play around with it - either by nailing the crown directly to that cabinet to be level with the others, or when we add the wood strip to the tops to attach the crown, leaving a gap so that all the crown is level.

Ugh, no fun!

kimberland30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crown Molding on cabinets ducky910 General DIY Discussions 10 08-08-2011 07:26 PM
crown over cabinets in wonky house Brik Carpentry 5 03-20-2009 04:22 PM
Mixing differnet crown moldings moondog111 Carpentry 13 12-07-2008 09:40 PM
How are the premade HD and Lowes Cabinets? twilightcall Carpentry 10 05-25-2008 10:23 AM
My Kitchen Floor-Problems!!! Please Help!!! Fat b Flooring 3 01-25-2007 03:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.