2x4 And 4x4 Load Capacity?? - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2013, 01:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2x4 and 4x4 load capacity??


i am planning on building a small shed (about 8'x6'). it is going to be used for firewood storage, so it is not going to be fancy. i am not going to bother with a floor (its going to be a dirt floor), and i think instead of sheathing i am just going to hang tarps to keep the water/snow out.

to save money on materials i am not going to frame with studs; i think i am just going to put a 4x4's for the corners and maybe one in the middle of each 8 foot wall. also i will be doing a metal roof so it will not be very heavy. so what im asking is how much weight can one 4x4 support? would one 4x4 on each corner be sturdy enough?

also, to make it a little more sturdy i will probably have 2x4's at the bottom and halfway up the shed connecting the corner posts together.

the point of this shed is not to be pretty, it's just to store firewood and i want to spend as little money as i can for it to do its job.

thanks in advance

Advertisement

ttamd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:23 PM   #2
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 646
Rewards Points: 718
Default

2x4 and 4x4 load capacity??


2X4's will do what you want.

You need some diagonal bracing to keep it rigid.

Advertisement

123pugsy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2x4 and 4x4 load capacity??


Quote:
Originally Posted by 123pugsy View Post
2X4's will do what you want.

You need some diagonal bracing to keep it rigid.
you think that i could just use 2x4's for the corners also? i don't need any 4x4's?
ttamd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 03:57 PM   #4
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 646
Rewards Points: 718
Default

2x4 and 4x4 load capacity??


Rethinking this because of the dirt floor and purpose.

2x4's are OK, but four pressure treated 4x4's at the corners set into concrete would give good stability and would probably cost only a bit more. 2x4's to tie these together and still use diagonal bracing as well.

One more thing, if it's close to your house and you're a light sleeper like myself, the sound of tarps blowing in the wind can keep a guy up at night.
123pugsy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,122
Rewards Points: 552
Default

2x4 and 4x4 load capacity??


you can do it cheaper all you have to do is find some one in your area with pallets they want to get rid of i find mine on craigslist
just google wood pallet sheds and look at the images
__________________
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said me
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said myself
p.s. not all i say is a fact but not all i say is my opinion.
jaydevries is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
shed


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts