Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-29-2013, 08:51 AM   #1

Share |

1/2 Round Radius Bend

I am rebuilding a small rectangle table for my wife's school office, 24" x 48". The old table top had a vinyl edge finish on it. I would like to finish with 1/2 round.

I was planning on just keeping the top square but she wants rounded edges. If I used 3/4" half-round (pine), do you think I can make the bend? I've never done this sort of thing before but have seen Norm do bends by soaking the wood and putting it in a jig to dry.

If this is a crazy idea, let me know! My initial thought is that a 90 on such a small radius isn't possible but figured I would run it by y'all first. Thanks.

CosmicMiami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 09:26 AM   #2
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

1/2 Round Radius Bend

I know this will cost more, but why not create a 2" (or so) wide rim frame from a solid piece of wood? (a large rectangle, with the center cut out to fit the table)... then route the desired profile into the outside edge after it is glued into place.

Or, you could just glue up four edge pieces if the joints wouldn't be a visual problem..... then route the profile into it also. But you would have glue joints with the first suggestion, anyway, for a piece that large.

Last edited by Willie T; 04-29-2013 at 09:38 AM.
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 09:30 AM   #3

1/2 Round Radius Bend

Great idea. I'm not that handy though.
Old 04-29-2013, 09:34 AM   #4
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

1/2 Round Radius Bend

I think they DO make a rubberized molding that might work. I often use rubberized base for curved walls.
Old 04-29-2013, 09:44 AM   #5

1/2 Round Radius Bend