Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2009, 10:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

XP problem


XP has a drop-down menu to "always show,always hide/hide when inactive" on the task and start menu, that allows showing or not showing icon on tray. Drop-down does not drop down! Any ideas why, or how to get it to?

carolandfritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:45 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


On the XP task bar (the blue bar at the bottom of the screen) right click your mouse in any of the free space of the task bar, then click on Properties from the pop up menu.

Then uncheck the 'Hide Inactive Icons' check box, found at the bottom of the properties window.

Or is you wish to customize the options, keep the check box checked, and simply click on the customize button.

mikedizzle95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 09:18 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


Thanx, Mike! Did all that, but as I said, drop-down menu does not drop down:thus I am unable to "customize", ie hide, show, etc. Worked OK on old computer with XP.
carolandfritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 09:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


Are you sure the menu bar is on the bottom?
Some people accidently drag it to one side
Do you have the windows key on your keyboard to bring up the menu?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 09:33 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


Here's the scoop: click on task bar, properties, hide inactive icons, customize. Now "current items" is there. Drop-down menu on any item does not drop down, so I cannot change whether icon shows or not. It's no big deal, I just hate it when my computer refuses to obey me!!
carolandfritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 11:14 AM   #6
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,163
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


Okay, this is a rare and tricky problem, but let's see if this fix works.
1) Right click on your desktop and click Properties.
2) When Display Properties opens, go to the Appearance Tab.
3) Click the Advanced button.
4) In the Item drop down, select Active Title Bar.
5) Now in the size setting beside Active Title bar, reduce the size and click OK to apply the settings.

Now check and see if the drop downs are accessible. For some reason this seems to fix the problem for some people.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 11:27 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


Well, I'll be hornswaggled! It WORKED! Go figure, who'da thunk it? Thanx, Bro. I'm gonna put you in for a raise! Fritz
carolandfritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 01:51 PM   #8
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,163
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


No problem. Not sure why that works but most of the time it does.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 03:12 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


How on earth did you come upon that fix?? Anyway, thanx again F
carolandfritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 04:43 PM   #10
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,163
Rewards Points: 0
Default

XP problem


I ran into it once before and scoured google for a couple of hours to find the answer.

poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with fan coil unit/hydronic system. flood1911 HVAC 2 09-05-2008 04:57 PM
2 switches , one light problem pepperthecat Electrical 2 07-08-2008 03:57 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Door -Storm Door problem bassman Building & Construction 2 01-17-2007 03:16 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.