Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2008, 10:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wireless router problems


i have a net gear mr814v2 wireless router. i am trying to get this hooked up. i have everything hooked up properly. but there is not wireless signal or even a hit that my wireless router is working. its like my computer is not reconizing that the wireless router is even there.


can some one please help me

thanks

JAVAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 03:53 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wireless router problems


I have had countless issues with my Linksys router and have found that the only way to fix these problems has been to contact Linksys direct. I would recommend doing the same with your manufacturer


Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 09-17-2008 at 07:56 PM. Reason: SITE RULES VIOLATION: Advertising Links Removed from Signature
dantheman9727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 04:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wireless router problems


Could be a lot of things.

Is the wireless symbol lit up on your router? Do you have a wireless card in your computer?

Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 09-17-2008 at 07:45 AM. Reason: SITE RULES VIOLATION: Advertising Link Removed from Signature
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 09:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wireless router problems


Have you set up computer to work directly (hard-wired)with your cable or DSL modem first?
Then you set up the router with a cable from the computer to the router!
Once the router is working hard-wired, you can then set up the wireless function.
I have a D-Link router and found that their tech support to be excellent!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 05:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wireless router problems


If brand new out of the box, following the instructions with the unit should get you there. If not, contact the vendor tech support for help.

If not new and has been used before, it may be configured to not reveal the SSID (network name) and therefore not show up in a scan by your computer's wireless card. If so, connect to the unit over the wire and reconfigure or reset to factory defaults.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wireless router problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by JAVAMAN View Post
i have a net gear mr814v2 wireless router. i am trying to get this hooked up. i have everything hooked up properly. but there is not wireless signal or even a hit that my wireless router is working. its like my computer is not reconizing that the wireless router is even there.


can some one please help me

thanks
It just occurred to me that I bought a Netgear USB wi-fi module and I found that Netgear has not made drivers that are Vista compatiblefor this. And they have no intention of doing so!
Are you trying to use this router with Vista. If so, this may be your problem.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 02:00 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wireless router problems


I've run into several cantankerous routers. Try your computer wired directly to your network interface. Does it work? If not contact service provider. Most of the better routers configure themselves simply by power cycling in the correct order. Internet adapter, wait for status leds, then router, again wait for leds to stop flashing, then turn on computer. DHCP(automatic) addressing will not work any other way. Make sure your internet adapter or modem does not require a crossover cable to the router. Make sure all cables that you use are good and the router is new and its leds light up the way they should, read the manual. As mentioned above try to get the router to work wired first. If it does. Then your wireless card is likely at fault. Make sure the card is powered on (they have leds on the back) and being recognized in your network control panel or try your computer and card on a friends network. your card has drivers as part of the OS, otherwise vista should not be an issue. If the router does not work wired then it is likely at fault and the seller should replace. Routers screw up all the time.
sawyerEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 08:39 AM   #8
Member
 
Wethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wireless router problems


Hi,

Netgear is just not a good brand,

I owned one as well as friends, we all switched back to linksys

Just my review
__________________
Need Help With Your Pump?►WeT HeaD Pump Repair ► Watch Me On YouTube: Pump Repair TV
Wethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 01:51 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wireless router problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wethead View Post
Hi,

Netgear is just not a good brand,

I owned one as well as friends, we all switched back to linksys

Just my review

I had one, the ports on the back diddnt want to work anymore.

Now I have a Linksys, with a Motorola cable modem, my ping in games is usually 30-90.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 02:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wireless router problems


We recommend linksys to our clients, because the software you need to set up your encryption is easier to use. Open networks set up automatically, then you log in and enter your SSID passwords etc. linksys takes you through the entire process. D-links are ok but the software interface can be a little puzzling in my view. I have an Apple airport express at home but I thought the software interface was made for geeks only. Once you have your network working don't allow family members to fool around with it, power it down, replug cables, etc. Remember to write down your network name, computer names, passwords, encryption type,etc so you can put things back together next time.
sawyerEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 03:31 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wireless router problems


While reviewing routers, I went through 3 Linksys routers over a period of 2 years!
Then 2 years ago, I bought a D Link and it been fine since then!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 03:50 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wireless router problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
While reviewing routers, I went through 3 Linksys routers over a period of 2 years!
Then 2 years ago, I bought a D Link and it been fine since then!

But you can heatsink them and overclock them...I should do that to a wrt54g...I should watercool it!

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elec short causing A/C problems or A/C problems causing elec problems? Marlon Electrical 2 06-25-2008 03:04 PM
phone problems AStott Electrical 13 06-07-2008 07:27 PM
router problems alljays Carpentry 2 06-04-2008 06:20 PM
Are you having ice problems? Grumpy Roofing/Siding 27 02-17-2008 04:51 PM
router irwinbuilt Carpentry 5 01-20-2008 08:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.