Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2009, 12:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 510
Default

wireless router install problems


preamble: this is my first wireless router.. never had one before. just bought a brand new TRENDnet wireless router (model # TEW-432BRP H/W: D1.1R) and trying connect it following the instructions but so far unsuccessful. i emailed manufacturer support line, but no response after several days.

here's what i did
1) verify that internet works (easy)
2) drop in install CD that came with router, wait for autoplay to catch up
3) select INSTALL router
4) then on the next screen it basically crashes with this error:

Error 313: Multiple Wired Adapters Detected
Setup Version: 4.1.7141.2
Model: TRENDnet TEW-432BRP
Firmware version:

now i think.. ok it is confused which "wired adapter" to use.. does my computer have more than one? i didn't think so.. but just incase i check control panel and this is what i see






any help?
Knucklez

__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 12:59 PM   #2
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

wireless router install problems


I've never had a router that you need to install software for. You should just plug the modem into the WAN port on the router and your PC into a LAN port and you should be accessing the internet as if it weren't there. Connecting wireless devices is a bit trickier but still doesn't require a software installation. Exactly what are you trying to connect to the router and how? (wireless or wired connection)

__________________
Darkling Designs
poppameth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 08:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 510
Default

wireless router install problems


i think the software is just there to help configure the wireless router, like change the default IP adress of the router, set passwords etc.

i never tried to just hook it up and see what happens.. i just followed the instructions! ha.. i'll try that.
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 06:56 AM   #4
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

wireless router install problems


Open your browser and type

192.168.1.1

Username is: admin
Password is: admin

This will get you into the web configuration of your router. No need to install software to change settings.
__________________
Darkling Designs
poppameth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 03:02 PM   #5
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,284
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

wireless router install problems


I just bought and installed a new wireless router at my daughters house, and it came with an installation CD. On this unit, a Cisco/Linkys, everything went well with installation. There was a part of installation where I was asked to download information to a jump-drive, which needed to be inserted into any laptop that would be running from this router. Using the jump-drive made installing information into mine and my grandson's laptop's easy. The wireless connection came right up. So-maybe there are routers out now that require installation CD's to make it easier for some of us. poppameth-Thanks for the info on that address, I'll file it for future use. Thanks, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 06:58 AM   #6
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

wireless router install problems


That address doesn't apply to all routers. 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1 are the most common router addresses. U/N and Password combos vary.

The ability to make a disk to transfer settings to another computer has existed within Windows itself for quite a while. You can do that without using the router software as well. It depends on if you want to use Windows or the router's connection client. Windows built in software wasn't so great until XP SP2, and SP3 expanded on that ability. I always set mine manually, probably because I always do things the hard way!
__________________
Darkling Designs
poppameth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 09:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 510
Default

wireless router install problems


well, i tried that. and it didn't work.

here's what i did
1) surfing the net via normal wired solution been using for years
2) unplug modem from PC's ethernet port
3) connect wireless router LAN 1 port to PC directly to PC ethernet port.
4) use firefox to try both default IP addresses- just times out
5) switch to WAN port on router
6) use firefox and IE both default IP addresses - just times out.

now sure what to do now. get no response from manufacturer

Knucklez
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 10:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 510
Default

wireless router install problems


oh.. read manual, and default IP is http://192.168.10.1

but sadly made no difference whatsoever, just timed out.

???
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 07:00 AM   #9
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

wireless router install problems


According to the quick install guide, the address is 192.168.1.1. Maybe you just have a defective router. It's always a possibility, especially with a cheap unit like that.
__________________
Darkling Designs
poppameth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 07:12 PM   #10
Member
 
K.M.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Spring Hill Fla-Toronto Ont CDN
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wireless router install problems


I have a Wireless G TrendNet router that just went dead one day and would go out all the time and loose internet connection .

Very hard to set-up too even with the CD

I would just bring it back and buy a D-link router or some other make

I have a D-link DIR-615

So easy to set up with the install cd,told me when to connect the wireless router set up my network name etc.

To your question,the network your connected to via your dsl modem or cable is the one you need to use.

but it should find it
K.M.G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 09:58 PM   #11
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 510
Default

wireless router install problems


some progress today...

i heard back from TRENDnet rep today. basically his advice was the exact same as given in the quick installation guide except he added one step.

RESET THE PC after router is all connected.

i did that, then on reboot i could access the router config through firefox.

wheew.. progress.

then i used the wizard menu, having no idea what i was doing, and just selected only default settings for everything (when asked) and hit done.

tried to connect to internet.. no dice.

so.. still working on problem
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 10:52 AM   #12
Member
 
K.M.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Spring Hill Fla-Toronto Ont CDN
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wireless router install problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklez View Post
some progress today...

i heard back from TRENDnet rep today. basically his advice was the exact same as given in the quick installation guide except he added one step.

RESET THE PC after router is all connected.

i did that, then on reboot i could access the router config through firefox.

wheew.. progress.

then i used the wizard menu, having no idea what i was doing, and just selected only default settings for everything (when asked) and hit done.

tried to connect to internet.. no dice.

so.. still working on problem

What a shame

Where in Ontario are you located???

Is there anyone that can help you
K.M.G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 06:15 PM   #13
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 510
Default

wireless router install problems


ha.. i can go to local techy person for help if need be. but right now i am still making progress with TRENDnet's service center. its slow.. but still making progress.

for historical reasons, i am posting my progress here.. maybe it will help someone in the future.

ok, i have modem connected to WAN port of wireless router. PC ethernet port is conneced to LAN port of router.

i clicked on firefox and tried to enter 192.168.10.1 but it just times out (i.e. back to the original problem!). i know that i can just reboot my computer and it will work.. but i tried something different. i went to control panel -> network connections -> Local area network -> REPAIR.

it went through some screens automatically, and then ::poof:: i could speak with the router via firefox

with the router connected directly to PC and modem, the wireless status changes from "no connection" to "looks like its working". and i can also surf the net! but am i surfing the net through my PC's ethernet connection (through the router to the modem) or through the PC's wireless PCI card? i have no idea..

if i disconnect the ethernet cable between PC and router i can no longer access the internet... so seems i still have a problem no?

Knucklez
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 09:18 PM   #14
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 510
Default

wireless router install problems


from tech support:
Quote:
When you are connected with an Ethernet cable you can get internet. This is a good thing. This shows that you have the router configured correctly.

Now for your wireless connection. The steps for this will be a bit different. You will first need to check to make sure that your wireless connection is enabled, and you will want to set up wireless security.

Open your web browser and in the address line, type in the address of your router. The default IP address is http://192.168.10.1 It will prompt you for a username and password. They are both “admin” by default. Without the quotes and they are case sensitive.

Once you have logged into the router click on wireless and click on basic. At the Right make sure the wireless is enabled. Then at the left click on Wireless>Security. At the right select a form of encryption and input an encryption key. Once applied any wireless client attempting to connect to your wireless network will be challenged with the encryption key.

After you have the wireless enabled, and the security set up. Try connecting to your wireless network. Disconnect the Ethernet cable from your computer.

Click on start
Click on run
Type in NCPA.CPL and click ok
Right click on wireless network connection
Left click on view available networks
Select your network's SSID (network name) and click connect.
well i did all that.. but still says no connection. i tried rebooting. repairing network. disable firewall. .. disabled ethernet. enabled wireless.. all sorts of combo.. but when i try to list networks i just get an error.
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 09:19 PM   #15
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 510
Default

wireless router install problems


then i see "change advanced settings" option and decided to click on that. i added manually SSID (i think i picked TRENDnet as my network name as that was given default). i know the security is WPA2 because i just did that according to tech rep's instructions.. then hit OK.. went back to network list and i see a list and there it is!!

now i'm surfing the net wirelesslly... i feel so modern aged.

Knucklez

__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete earthad1 Building & Construction 9 10-26-2010 10:49 AM
Range hood install questions drtbk4ever Building & Construction 6 10-09-2009 10:00 AM
Diagonal Hardwood Install Advice JDeFuria Flooring 7 06-29-2009 04:35 PM
Are you having ice problems? Grumpy Roofing/Siding 27 02-17-2008 04:51 PM
router irwinbuilt Carpentry 5 01-20-2008 08:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.