Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2009, 05:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wireless ?


Heres the deal, I am not that computer savy.

I have a desktop computer with a router that allows me to use my laptop for wireless connection.

Now I just bought another desktop and want to connect to the internet with that wireless. Is there something I can purchase to plug in to the new desktop and connect to the internet wireless?
so all my conncetions will come from the one router?

econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 06:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wireless ?


Yes. You can either get a wireless card or usb adapter. Just search for "Wireless USB" or "Wireless card" on any online retailer.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wireless ?


Yup, I have a USB wireless that plugs into my laptop or a desktop
I like USB - easier to move between computers
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 12:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wireless ?


when I plug this usb in my new desktop will it find the wireless router itself?

can you get these USB things for printers also? if so how do they work? same way plug it in the back of printer and bingo?
econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 12:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wireless ?


There is software & short setup that you have to do
There are wireless devices for printers
Usually printers only have a USB port to receive data & print from a PC. I'm not sure what solution there is but I know they exist
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:31 PM   #6
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,172
Rewards Points: 514
Default

wireless ?


USB is easier to set up. They aren't nearly as good as a PCI card though. Their range is much more limited since they run on a weaker power source. Your devices should communicate fine right out of the box if you've never set up any kind of security on the router. Of course if you haven't set up security, every neighbor and passerby can use you internet connection too. Print servers are available for the printers, and many newer printers already have a wireless print server built in.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 06:06 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Smile

wireless ?


awesome, bought a USB card and had it up and running in minutes. The wireless printer was a little harder but after a hour got that going also. Now my next question.

System Mechanic. anyone us this product to repair errors and slow down of your PC? Man at the store recommended it My Laptop and one Desktop are having issues.
econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 06:26 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wireless ?


What kind of issues are you having? You might be able to do a system restore to fix some of the registry errors and other corrupt files.
sweetwaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 07:44 PM   #9
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,172
Rewards Points: 514
Default

wireless ?


http://download.cnet.com/System-Mech...-10030183.html

System Mechanic has mixed reviews, most of them leaning toward the bad side.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 07:12 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wireless ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by econdave View Post
System Mechanic. anyone us this product to repair errors and slow down of your PC? Man at the store recommended it My Laptop and one Desktop are having issues.
Regarding your primary question. I have used System Mechanic in the past. Several releases ago. It is one of those "do it all" programs that is now in my software junk pile. Had to do a couple of system restores that I could only point to System Mechanic as the root cause of the problem. Maybe a few releases later it is better. Maybe not.

In general, opinions about various software applications are like belly buttons, everybody's got one. It would be best to spend some time doing Google searches for the specific problems you are having, and go from there. Or provide more detail here about what the problems are, and get all the belly button opinions from folks that pass through this forum.
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:28 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wireless ?


my computer is real slow, a lot of times it says program not responding end now I want to clean it up and dont know what program to use, a guy was telling me system mechanic was the best $35.00 he ever spent on his P.C.
econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 06:56 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wireless ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by econdave View Post
my computer is real slow, a lot of times it says program not responding end now I want to clean it up and dont know what program to use.
There are a basket full of things that can cause that message. Chances are you can clean up the 'not responding' type of issue by running a complete Check Disk (free), Microsoft Update (free), and a program called CCleaner (it is shareware, but you can download and run it to see if it helps before donating $20 bucks to the author) to clean up the junk files on your computer, clean up the registry, and get rid of all the garbage start up items.
Quote:
Originally Posted by econdave View Post
a guy was telling me system mechanic was the best $35.00 he ever spent on his P.C.
The $35 he mentions is the annual subscription fee. It is not a one-time purchase.
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:02 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wireless ?


how do you clean up the registry and start up files?
econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:52 AM   #14
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,172
Rewards Points: 514
Default

wireless ?


CCleaner, which is free, not shareware (though you can donate) will handle registry cleanup. I use a program called Startup Control Panel that places an icon in control panel for you to access all processes and programs that run when Windows starts. You can disable them as you wish.

poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install a wireless security camera BIO Electrical 7 03-23-2009 09:59 AM
Adding a Wireless Sprinkler Timer feature... markharris Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 03-02-2009 01:41 PM
wireless router problems JAVAMAN PC Repairs & Upgrades 11 12-20-2008 02:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.