Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2011, 04:24 PM   #1
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wind Mobile Internet stick


I think this is for anyone in the Ontario, Canada region. Not sure if this service is available in the US.

I have an internet stick (USB) which performs rather well but I cannot access any gaming sites. The game I play (Links2003) takes very little bandwidth but it seems to be firewalled. I can't figure out how to get access to the stick to open ports, etc. Customer Service (wow..oxymoron indeed) say they have no firewall on it and cannot tell me how to access programming for the stick.

Any suggestions would be appreciated

Cheers!

canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 07:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 424
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wind Mobile Internet stick


In the US we have USB wi-fi sticks, plug them in and if there's wi-fi about, you connect. Same as 3G and now 4G.

I would agree with what your customer service people are saying. At least for US models, there is no built in firewall. Either your PC or ISP is fire walling you, or something else weird is going on.

My two cents, YMMV!

dougp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 11:10 AM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wind Mobile Internet stick


Yup. There is something you set when you set up the actual internet account that you need to change. Or your virus or firewall doesn't like something and you will have to manually allow it as an exception. Final possibility is the site blocks Canadian IP addresses. Just work through one for where the site is located.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 04:17 PM   #4
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wind Mobile Internet stick


Thanks guys for the response. Sadly, I can't even get a tech to understand what I need with regards to DMZ and port routing. Anyway, I decided to go back to my original ISP and for $10 more I can get high speed and 65G of download..plus, I get a modem which I can talk to..not a bad deal. Not sure what high speed means
these days though. The brochure says 6.2Mbps..to me that means 6.2 Mega "bits" per minute. The sales rep tells me its 6.2 Mega "Bytes" per second. I must be a dinosaur. I always learned that small b=bits and capital B=Bytes.

For others who may want to try the Wind Stick, I would give it time. They obviously need more towers which will come in time. If you are just accessing emails and the occasional browsing, its fine but there are probably better providers who at least have a deeper technical support group.

Dave

Last edited by canadaclub; 11-21-2011 at 04:19 PM. Reason: typo
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wind Mobile Internet stick


Quote:
Originally Posted by canadaclub View Post
Thanks guys for the response. Sadly, I can't even get a tech to understand what I need with regards to DMZ and port routing. Anyway, I decided to go back to my original ISP and for $10 more I can get high speed and 65G of download..plus, I get a modem which I can talk to..not a bad deal. Not sure what high speed means
these days though. The brochure says 6.2Mbps..to me that means 6.2 Mega "bits" per minute. The sales rep tells me its 6.2 Mega "Bytes" per second. I must be a dinosaur. I always learned that small b=bits and capital B=Bytes.

For others who may want to try the Wind Stick, I would give it time. They obviously need more towers which will come in time. If you are just accessing emails and the occasional browsing, its fine but there are probably better providers who at least have a deeper technical support group.

Dave
This is a rather late response, but may be of use to other readers.

Gibson Research Corp. (www.grc.com) can test your firewall and check for open ports etc.
There is a method of checking to see if your ISP is blocking anything that is explained also!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Peel and Stick Veneer and Contact Cement GreggG Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 3 05-15-2011 01:45 PM
Power loss carlko Electrical 55 03-12-2011 05:26 PM
slow....................internet RichyL PC Repairs & Upgrades 16 10-20-2009 07:57 AM
Can I set a cabin on top of mobile home slab? birchbarx Building & Construction 4 03-22-2008 06:06 PM
Peel and stick matching melkisadek Flooring 6 01-16-2008 07:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.