Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2012, 10:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

WiFi Antenna


I have my daughter connected to my home network!
Her house is approx. 200' away from mine.
At her end, I have a TPlink 722N (usb) connected to about 15' of coax cable, running outside to the TPLink antenna.
At my end I have a DLink N router. There is a direct line of sight, through a window, between the two.
The connection gives about 2 bars on the signal strength icon.
From time to time, if the weather isn't cooperative, it fails to connect.
I would like to install an antenna at my daughters end, that would give me a more reliable signal.
I would be interested if anybody knows of a suitable antenna for this purpose. Either manufactured or home built.

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:47 PM   #2
Ole Wood Worker
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,736
Rewards Points: 2,600
Blog Entries: 1
Default

WiFi Antenna


Here is a link to a wireless booster that will work better than the high gain antennas. http://www.amazon.com/Cisco-Linksys-.../dp/B000085BD7

__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 11:38 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

WiFi Antenna


Quote:
Originally Posted by jiju1943 View Post
Here is a link to a wireless booster that will work better than the high gain antennas. http://www.amazon.com/Cisco-Linksys-.../dp/B000085BD7

Thank you for the link! It never occured to me that electronic boosters were available.
Are thes located with the router or can they be located at the distant location also?
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 12:22 PM   #4
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

WiFi Antenna


also look up directional antenna
http://www.radiolabs.com/products/wi...ss-antenna.php

and for better reliability, you can hook up two wireless routers or access points as wireless bridges.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bbo For This Useful Post:
BigJim (02-18-2012)
Old 02-18-2012, 02:05 PM   #5
Ole Wood Worker
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,736
Rewards Points: 2,600
Blog Entries: 1
Default

WiFi Antenna


I put the router at one PC and the booster at the other one.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 11:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

WiFi Antenna


Thanks everybody for your tips. Lots of info to digest and it may take me awhile! When I make a decision and have tried it out, I'll post back!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 07:56 PM   #7
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

WiFi Antenna


URL did not work. Sorry.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:28 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

WiFi Antenna


Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
URL did not work. Sorry.

??????????????? Worked for me!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:21 AM   #9
Ole Wood Worker
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,736
Rewards Points: 2,600
Blog Entries: 1
Default

WiFi Antenna


Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
URL did not work. Sorry.
It worked for me too.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 10:54 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WiFi Antenna


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
I have my daughter connected to my home network!
Her house is approx. 200' away from mine.
At her end, I have a TPlink 722N (usb) connected to about 15' of coax cable, running outside to the TPLink antenna.
At my end I have a DLink N router. There is a direct line of sight, through a window, between the two.
The connection gives about 2 bars on the signal strength icon.
From time to time, if the weather isn't cooperative, it fails to connect.
I would like to install an antenna at my daughters end, that would give me a more reliable signal.
I would be interested if anybody knows of a suitable antenna for this purpose. Either manufactured or home built.
Just run an ethernet wire underground... that's what I would do.

Chaining Wifi is bound to run into frustration.
Weird_T_Figure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Weird_T_Figure For This Useful Post:
Hardway (02-24-2012)
Old 02-24-2012, 11:12 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WiFi Antenna


^ I agree.

I would just get a spool of ethernet cable and run it 6" underground, then connect it to a second router/switch for the connectivity in the second home. It will give a faster and more reliable connection for the secondary home. A signal booster is a nice alternative, but then you are ensuring that more people near your home are able to access your connection; even if it is secured, which any wireless connection should be, you want to minimize the amount of people who can be in range to see and possible access your connection.
DavesWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:37 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

WiFi Antenna


I found a simple, workable solution to my problem.

I made reflectors from aluminum sheet stock that are mounted 1" behind the Dlink router antenna's.
I cut the aluminum into 7" squares and bent them into a curve that had the cord about 2" from the aluminum.
To mount the two reflectors I cut styrofoam blocks to fit the curve and taped these to the reflectors, centered between the top and bottom.
I drilled a hole in the blocks and slid the reflectors onto the antenna's.

Originally, the signal was a maximum of 2 bars (40%) but with the reflectors it went to 3 bars (60%) and now connects reliably.

Total cost=$0
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:05 AM   #13
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

WiFi Antenna


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie
I found a simple, workable solution to my problem.

I made reflectors from aluminum sheet stock that are mounted 1" behind the Dlink router antenna's.
I cut the aluminum into 7" squares and bent them into a curve that had the cord about 2" from the aluminum.
To mount the two reflectors I cut styrofoam blocks to fit the curve and taped these to the reflectors, centered between the top and bottom.
I drilled a hole in the blocks and slid the reflectors onto the antenna's.

Originally, the signal was a maximum of 2 bars (40%) but with the reflectors it went to 3 bars (60%) and now connects reliably.

Total cost=$0
You must be an antennologist to think of something like this.
Amazing that it helps.
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 01:40 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

WiFi Antenna


Quote:
Originally Posted by titanoman View Post
You must be an antennologist to think of something like this.
Amazing that it helps.
I've been tinkering with using surplus satellite TV dishes for wifi, but had little success. With these I had to run coax outside to a dish and although they did work, the dishes weren't an improvement over the router antenna's. probably because of the cable loses.
With the antenna reflectors, there is no concern about cabling.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 11:24 PM   #15
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

WiFi Antenna


I would bet also that the dishes are too large.

Given that N standard antennae are more complex than the older B and G antennae you probably did the best thing available by shielding/reflecting the existing hardware.

Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-wired coaxial cable mapping & digital antenna set up BadHand Electrical 6 10-30-2011 10:37 PM
EMT as antenna mast? KE2KB Electrical 23 05-30-2009 12:46 PM
Do I need a digital antenna? darsunt Home Theater 9 02-12-2009 12:00 PM
Grounding my new over-the-air HDTV antenna pcampbell Electrical 2 01-15-2009 12:42 PM
large outdoor antenna mcvane Home Theater 22 09-08-2008 07:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.