Vista Sp1 Won't Load. Drive Won't Restore - PC Repairs & Upgrades - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2008, 11:07 AM   #16
Member
 
crawdoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Hmm. Optical drive works, just not with the system restore CD. yeah skip the driver uninstall for now.

System file checker
Verification 98% complete. Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files unable to fix some of them.

Is there more to the above message?

Anyway see if you have this log file

C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log

if you do open it a copy and paste it here.
-----------------------------------------
Make sure the BIOS is selecting an optical drive as the first boot device.
Then try reboot with repair CD in the drive

Advertisement


Last edited by crawdoogie; 11-11-2008 at 11:51 AM. Reason: woke up
crawdoogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 08:22 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


When I try to go to the log at "C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log"
It comes back "access denide"

I should also mention that the hard drive has a partition that holds the same back up files as the recovery discs. It won't load from there either.
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:37 PM   #18
Member
 
crawdoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Googling "Verification 98% complete. Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files unable to fix some of them." shows that many Vista users have had this problem which in a sense is good because it makes it easier to find a solution.
Go to:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833

In the RESOLUTION section you have already run sfc /scannow so move to the next section and go from there.

It seems that your problem is that your account on your Vista system doesn't have permission to access files that have been corrupted. The corrupted files in your case are most likely the ones used for Windows update and System Restore and maybe others.This fix finds the files that SFC cannot fix, has your take ownership of them so that you can replace them.
See if this fix works. If you have any problems post back.
crawdoogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 10:03 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


thanks for the help, I'll give it a try
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 10:48 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Can't seem to get the Sfcdetails.txt file to come up in the viewer. I guess the good news is that if it's a corrupted file, reformatting on my other computer should get me back to a good drive. The SATA to USB adapter I ordered should arrive in a few days. I'll keep you all posted.
Thanks for all the help
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 11:27 PM   #21
Member
 
crawdoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


If you reformat the drive in another PC you may lose your HP repair partition and its possible that the drive won't work with HP's OEM version of Windows Vista. It would be better to have a retail copy of Vista if you plan to go this route. So before you go that route :

-Try uninstalling Service Pack 1

-Did you check in the BIOS that the optical drive (DVD/CD-R or whatever) is set to boot before the hard disk? If this is not set then the PC looks to the hard drive first, It must be set to boot from the CD drive! Then try to restore for the CD as follows:

1. Open the disk tray and shut off PC.
2. With PC off load restore CD , close the tray, then power up the PC.


HP system restore stuff here:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/f...ame=c00809678#
crawdoogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 11:51 PM   #22
Member
 
crawdoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Quote:
Originally Posted by sv9779 View Post
Can't seem to get the Sfcdetails.txt file to come up in the viewer. I guess the good news is that if it's a corrupted file, reformatting on my other computer should get me back to a good drive. The SATA to USB adapter I ordered should arrive in a few days. I'll keep you all posted.
Thanks for all the help
Look for the Sfcdetails.txt in the Window root folder which usually is C:\
or use Windows search tool to find it. It should open with notepad.

Another way to read the cbs.log file is to simply copy/paste it into another folder like My Documents. The copy will have no restrictions to open. You may have to click the Continue button to provide administrator permission to copy after the Paste command.
The cbs.log file may be huge though (like 20-30 Mb)
crawdoogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 12:47 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Quote:
Originally Posted by crawdoogie View Post
Look for the Sfcdetails.txt in the Window root folder which usually is C:\
or use Windows search tool to find it. It should open with notepad.

Another way to read the cbs.log file is to simply copy/paste it into another folder like My Documents. The copy will have no restrictions to open. You may have to click the Continue button to provide administrator permission to copy after the Paste command.
The cbs.log file may be huge though (like 20-30 Mb)

Well I did a search for Sfcdetails.txt and found it. I tried to open it in wordpad but nothing came up just the wordpad with a blinking curser.
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 01:59 AM   #24
Member
 
crawdoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Answer this please...

Have you checked the boot order in the BIOS? It must be set so that the optical drive is first.
crawdoogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 10:45 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Quote:
Originally Posted by crawdoogie View Post
Answer this please...

Have you checked the boot order in the BIOS? It must be set so that the optical drive is first.

Yep it is... When I subbed in an old ATA drive the discs worked fine. The restore menu comes right up and ready to go.
I just found an old 60 gig ATA drive. Think I'll take out the SATA and try loading up the ATA as the master and see how it does. Just have to find the time to play with it.
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 09:41 PM   #26
Member
 
crawdoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Just trying to figure out why the Recovery CD/drive won't boot with the SATA drive but will with an old ATA one and want to make sure not to have overlooked anything.

Vista is a lot tighter with security/permissions. For some reason the programs that are not working on your PC (windows update. SFC, System Restore)are being denied access to the files needed for them to function.

I'm assuming that you have tried using HP's Recovery Manager which is accessed by clicking Start > All Programs > PC Help & Tools > Recovery Manager.

Take a look at this page also and run through HP's steps on doing a clean install of Vista if you haven't before.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...ame=c00814731#

also what model is your HP PC?
crawdoogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:22 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Model is an HP Pavillion A6030n. When I called HP tech support we went through that recovery method. When that didn't work they said I needed to buy the restore discs. So I did. When those didn't work they sent me another set just in case those were bad. Niether set works. It would be nice to get it going without reformatting, but sometimes I think it's just better to start over.
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 08:39 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Just an update for all those trying to help. I took out the SATA hard drive and put in an old ATA hard drive. I inserted my restore discs and it worked ok. ( to a degree) It reformated the drive. Copied all the Windows files and other factory programs to the drive. But when it tried to reboot it was unable to boot from the drive. I tried checking the bios to make sure it was booting from the correct drive and that seems ok. Maybe you can't have a "C" drive on the ATA bus in a SATA computer???? Soooooo I put the SATA drive back in and added a RAID controler so I could add another ATA drive and I started backing up all my info from the SATA drive to an ATA drive. I havn't tried to reformat the SATA yet on my other computer. I want to have another SATA drive ready to go in case It won't work after I format it. Can't help but think there might be a problem with the drive and if I erase it all I'll have is an empty drive that I can't restore.
I'll keep you updated on progrees.
Thanks to everyone for all your help.
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 04:26 AM   #29
Member
 
crawdoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


Hi again sv

You don't need RAID drivers to run multiple SATA drives as single drives. You only need the RAID drivers when you run the drives in a RAID array. You do need SATA drivers though.

The HP recovery disks can not do a full install, they can only repair or restore the Vista software that came pre-installed by HP. This is probably why the ATA drive won't work using the HP recovery disk and also why you shouldn't reformat the SATA drive that has Vista installed on it by HP.

The following website has info about creating a recovery disk that may allow you to access the OEM recovery partition on your SATA drive.

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/14...very-disc.html

Or if you can get your hands on a copy of a full retail Vista DVD (friend maybe?) try using it to repair your system files.
crawdoogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 07:19 AM   #30
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore


sounds to me like bad sectors on that drive, windblows won't install on it if so. or there are truncated/crosslinked files. get new HDD and try again. there are HDD tools that MAY restore the drive, but it's hit or miss with them.

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another VISTA O/S question YerDugliness PC Repairs & Upgrades 11 12-04-2008 08:13 AM
framing, expanding wall opening wall - load bearing? nave Remodeling 5 01-23-2008 04:44 PM
Load Calculation ? RM575 HVAC 9 07-04-2007 01:37 PM
% total roof load on interior bearing wall? Grommet Building & Construction 1 03-29-2007 08:37 AM
moving another load bearing nailfun Carpentry 2 02-20-2007 09:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts