Is A Video Card The Answer? - PC Repairs & Upgrades - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2007, 02:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is a video card the answer?


The monitor on my daughter's EMachine c2685 suddenly stopped working the other day.

I have confirmed that the monitor itself still works.
I have also confirmed that the hard drive works.

The computer turns on and off with the power button, but nothing appears on the screen.

Would buying a seperate video card be a likely and inexpensive fix?

TIA

Barry

Advertisement

Barry Spice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 04:10 PM   #2
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is a video card the answer?


Barry,
Have you opened the case to see if the existing video is on a card or on the motherboard? If it is a card, it just may have come loose from the slot. Take it out re seat it and try again. If it is on the MB you might try resetting the BIOS. Sometimes things get out of whack and need to be re set. If none of this works, then try a new video card. If you have one in another machine it is worth a try to be sure it fixes the issue before buying a new one. If you take one out just replace it back in the same slot with no ill effects.

Advertisement

__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 09:10 PM   #3
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is a video card the answer?


According to eMachines website, that is a cheapy computer that comes by default with integrated video. That means you won't have a video card. Your video will be built into the motherboard. Checking the BIOS and resetting it would likely be the best thing to try in addition to checking for loose connections. You can try putting a video card in it but you'll have to be careful about what type to get. I can't find anything on their site so far that specifies whether it has an AGP or PCI-e slot. If it has neither your are stuck with a standard PCI card which won't be all that great and may be very hard to find at this point. Unfortunately I'd be worried about the whole computer if a component on the motherboard has gone out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 04:54 PM   #4
Member
 
fierysun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vegas Baby!
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Is a video card the answer?


According to a site I just checked you have a 300 watt power supply in the PC. Keep that in mind when you purchase a graphics card. Make sure to check the power requirements on the card you get. A lot of medium to high end cards require at least a 350 watt power supply.
__________________
Trying to keep all my fingers and toes
Personal site
fierysun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts