Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2010, 09:18 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Posts: 30
Share |
Default

Vacuum out your PC


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Been vac'ing out thousands of PC's for 20 years more or less
Never a problem
Yeah, but even if you win a few rounds of Russian roulette, you should move onto a nerf gun, instead of a real one. can of air 5 dollars, new computer 400-a few grand. You got lucky, probably used the same type of vacuum?

L4nce0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 09:26 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Vacuum out your PC


Same vacuum over 20 years at multiple sites ?
No
Lucky....with the same method on thousands of computers?
Just a plain old small house vac at some sites
Never spent a couple grand on a new computer - at least not these days
When memory was $500 a meg it was easy enough to do
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 11:27 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Posts: 30
Default

Vacuum out your PC


I wish I could say that. I just got a 1200 upgrade (2 graphic card, hdd and keyboard..) adds up when your an enthusiast.
L4nce0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 03:28 PM   #19
Member
 
Tizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Richmond Va.
Posts: 312
Default

Vacuum out your PC


I've never thought of using a vac before. I do use the vac's hose attachment for the keyboard and around the tower.
Right around the first of summer, I could hear the fan working harder than usual so I did a cleanout. Used bottled air and plain cleaning wipes on the fans. Got it up off the floor this time after I finished..... runs like a champ now, even in this dreadful heat here.
Tizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 03:58 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Vacuum out your PC


I picked up a computer when I visited a friend
There neighbor was getting rid of it....kept locking up
I always needed parts...so I took it

There was dog hair everywhere
I vac'd it out...ran fine
It must have been overheating
That was a few years ago...it was a P4 1.7g...fairly fast at the time
Still had all their documents & everything else on it
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 12:35 AM   #21
Mr.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default

Vacuum out your PC


I use an air compressor to clean off my laptop. While the vacuum cleaner may work fine, the air compressor's better at removing stuck-up dirt in hard to reach places.

Last edited by timothytaylor; 08-25-2010 at 12:54 AM. Reason: spelling
timothytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 11:45 AM   #22
Citrix & Cisco Ops
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 87
Default

Vacuum out your PC


Quote:
Originally Posted by L4nce0 View Post
Yeah, but even if you win a few rounds of Russian roulette, you should move onto a nerf gun, instead of a real one. can of air 5 dollars, new computer 400-a few grand. You got lucky, probably used the same type of vacuum?
I don't even use a can of air. Air compressor rules out liquid.

Vacuuming, though admittedly unlikely to blow away a PC, is extremely bad practice. I put it in the same ballpark as working without a grounding strap.

When working on PC hardware that doesn't belong to you, you are supposed to reduce the risk of transferring static electricity in your work space - not add to it.
RedHelix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 02:32 PM   #23
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Vacuum out your PC


This is my tools of trade when cleaning out PCs, no issues so far.



I do want to get a filter for the compressor though. If I use it for too long it does start to spray water, but it's a very fine mist that is not really enough to cause issues, but I still stop when it hits that point.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 11:54 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Default

Vacuum out your PC


I started working with/on computers 17 years ago. The only time I actually wore a grounding strap was in college because we had to. I've "static" shocked circuit boards and other components many times(very common in a dry Canadian winter), as well as vacuumed many towers and monitors out with regular old vacuums like a Kenmore. I have never ruined anything to date. I think this is a job for myth busters.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 05:54 AM   #25
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,160
Default

Vacuum out your PC


Quote:
Originally Posted by n0c7 View Post
I started working with/on computers 17 years ago. The only time I actually wore a grounding strap was in college because we had to. I've "static" shocked circuit boards and other components many times(very common in a dry Canadian winter), as well as vacuumed many towers and monitors out with regular old vacuums like a Kenmore. I have never ruined anything to date. I think this is a job for myth busters.
Same here. Never used a static strap and never had any issues. Just don't work on carpet and you shouldn't build up much static anyway. If I built my own computer shop I'd use ESD tile on the workroom floor to absorb static as soon as you set foot in the room. Straps just make it difficult to work in side the PC since you are dragging a wire around with you.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 09:09 AM   #26
Citrix & Cisco Ops
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 87
Default

Vacuum out your PC


For a number of years I was a factory-authorized technician for Gateway, HP and Toshiba for a large electronics company. During the wintertime, I had seasonal employees zap RAM modules and processors on a number of occasions when they were unstrapped. One guy even killed the controller board on a hard drive. There's no myth to it.

Currently I work as a sysadmin, and even though it's a minor annoyance and our layout severely inhibits static, I always strap in before cracking open a $15,000 HP Blade.

The point is, even if the probability is extremely low, if you do screw up and zap something to death, the liability falls squarely on your lap. In PC repair it can get you sued, and in Systems Administration it can get you fired - then sued.


Last edited by RedHelix; 09-17-2010 at 09:11 AM.
RedHelix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inducer Vacuum Problem RobertCan HVAC 21 12-22-2009 03:20 PM
Vacuum relief valve? walker44 Plumbing 10 08-30-2009 04:33 PM
Watts Vacuum Breaker goochman Plumbing 2 06-28-2009 02:32 PM
lights dimming when using the vacuum farmerde Electrical 21 12-08-2008 08:09 AM
Big power hog- the vacuum fw2007 Electrical 2 08-06-2008 11:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.