Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 08:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

USB CAmera


I have a small, cheap USB camera which I purchased 2 years ago for the "heck" of it. It worked fine on my last PC with Windows XP but it will not work with my new Windows 7 PC. The computer recognizes it, says it is installed and working properly but there is no way to see an image from it.
I know others have had these problems with USB cams and Windows 7 but nobody seems to have an answer. PLease point me in the right direction.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:47 PM   #2
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 156
Default

USB CAmera


Quote:
I have a small, cheap USB camera which I purchased 2 years ago for the "heck" of it
Throw it away and get one that works with Win7. Stress will be over and done with. :-) You did say it was cheap, right?

MT Stringer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

USB CAmera


Yep...cheap. And stress isn't the issue. I want to know why it doesn't work. Windows 7 says it works properly, it finds and downloads the software and it appears on the computer device menu. And it works fine on the XP computers I still have. Throwing it out doesn't seem like any answer.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 06:51 AM   #4
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

USB CAmera


Is your Windows 7 machine 64-bit by chance? And all the other machines the camera works on are 32-bit or lower?

64-bit machines cannot handle legacy code (e.g. 8-bit strings) that work fine on 32-bit and lower machines.

Just my guess. It is not W7's fault. It is recognizing the device. It is a software/driver compatibility problem at the chipset level.

No fix for it but to rewrite the code and strip out the legacy stuff. Have you double checked and searched yourself for a new driver?

Try [camera name] drivers in Google directly.

Last edited by user1007; 08-31-2012 at 06:57 AM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

USB CAmera


Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
Is your Windows 7 machine 64-bit by chance? And all the other machines the camera works on are 32-bit or lower?

64-bit machines cannot handle legacy code (e.g. 8-bit strings) that work fine on 32-bit and lower machines.

Just my guess. It is not W7's fault. It is recognizing the device. It is a software/driver compatibility problem at the chipset level.

No fix for it but to rewrite the code and strip out the legacy stuff. Have you double checked and searched yourself for a new driver?

Try [camera name] drivers in Google directly.
I second what was said above. As far as the difference in the code. Because I bought a Canon A630 in 2006(back when 6/8MP was the best on the market). It worked fine on my XP Pro system. At the time, my computer was:

950Mhz
WinXP Pro(32-bit)
1GB RAM

Now, My new computer is:

2.90Ghz
Win7 Pro(64-bit)
4GB RAM

It works fine on my Win7 system.

Which means that, the coding allowed for upgrading from a 32-bit OS, to a 64-bit OS.

Since you have upgraded the drivers', ask the company's tech support people.
Chris0516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kodak EasyShare M530 digital camera issue proofer Off Topic 4 11-18-2011 03:26 PM
Toilet camera stuck 25 feet underground. theglove89 Plumbing 22 08-07-2011 06:48 AM
Making a waterproof/weatherproof enclosures for a network camera & its power hub snowfall Building & Construction 0 05-02-2011 10:14 AM
Camera battery chargers Jeeper1970 General DIY Discussions 4 12-29-2008 08:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.