Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2014, 02:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 222
Share |
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


I have an older Gateway 500XL PC from 2004. I have upgraded the RAM to 2 GB and the hard drive was also replaced a few years ago. It has Windows XP right now and I need to upgrade to Windows 7 as a work related requirement. I would like to keep the desktop going as I just use it for an occassional VPN work connection and some light internet surfing. A Windows 7 disk can be purchased for anywhere from $40 to $100 it seems. My question is....will this Gateway PC handle the new operating system or should I just look into getting another PC (new or used)?

Eagle One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 02:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 76
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


I suspect it is going to be close. Why don't you download and run this tool: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...pgrade-advisor

Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 03:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 222
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


Thanks! I will try it out....
Eagle One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 05:54 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


I don't think it will be able to run win7 properly. The processor and video card will be very important also 2GB RAM is the bare minimum for win7.
hilarytg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:31 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


Is your gateway 64 bit? If not, basically it won't work.

I'm probably gonna increase my RAM from 4gig to 8gig to get more speed.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 09:16 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 222
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


I ran the Windows Upgrade advisor tool in the link provided above and it said that my system could take it. It would need a 32 bit custom install. The only other negative issue it laid out was that I could not use Outlook Express in Win 7 but I don't even use it so that is irrelevant.

Should I go forward with the Win 7? Seems like there are a couple differing opinions.....
Eagle One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 09:38 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 76
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


32 bit bit limits you to 3 gb of ram when using windows. Most new software is 64 bit; especially graphics programs. Will you work software run as 32 bit?

I don't think I would but only you can decide.
__________________
Colbyt
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 09:44 AM   #8
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


I'd avoid myself and just get something win7 already installed. I try never to combine any work related and home related devices myself if I can avoid it.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 09:54 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 222
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


[QUOTE=Colbyt;1303289]Will you work software run as 32 bit?/QUOTE]

I have used the work VPN software successfully for years on this same PC so that should not be a problem but I will check with the IT people at work to see what they think.

This PC originally had 512 MB of RAM and I finally upgraded to 2 GB a year ago. It has two more memory slots available that I could add more and it takes up to 4 GB but from what I understand, I can't really put 4 GB in there. It needs to be like 3.5 GB or less or that will create some issue.

I definitely don't want to spend $200-$300 or more on a new desktop. I could get a used CPU with Windows 7 on it for maybe $50 or so but then I have mild concerns about what was done with that PC already.
Eagle One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 10:34 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


Don't forget, that since work is requiring you to upgrade/get another computer. It is a tax deduction.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 01:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 222
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


Oh, I have not forgotten that but I won't attempt to write it off. Home office deductions are a huge red flag for the IRS. You have to document the time usage for your business purposes if it is also used for personal use and the rules are just onerous and not worth the small return if you are in a lower bracket. I would be using it mainly for personal use anyway.
Eagle One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 03:27 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 76
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle One View Post

This PC originally had 512 MB of RAM and I finally upgraded to 2 GB a year ago. It has two more memory slots available that I could add more and it takes up to 4 GB but from what I understand, I can't really put 4 GB in there. It needs to be like 3.5 GB or less or that will create some issue.
There may be something particular to your board that makes that true but I don't believe windows has a problem with it. I ran 4 gig of ram on a 32 bit XP machine for several years. Windows never saw or used but about 3.1 gig of that.

It is important on ddr and ddr2 boards to install the memory in matched pairs. What your board uses can be found in your manual on on the dealer site.
__________________
Colbyt
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:34 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 222
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


I still have the two 256 MB memory sticks that were in there originally. I thought about adding those into the other slots to give me 2.5 GB of RAM but someone advised me against it. I think it had something to do with the four sticks being different sizes and that it was best to use all the same size. What do you think about that?
Eagle One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 08:05 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 76
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


I can't confirm or deny that. It does sound familiar for some of the older boards.

Most memory is fairly cheap right now. I would pop in 2 @ 2G or 4 @1g and write the old stuff off. You do have to determine what your board can handle. Some boards can't use the double sided ram.

I think the Crucial site has an active-X tool to interrogate your board and make suggestions. For the most part, I buy Crucial or Kingston.
__________________
Colbyt
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 08:31 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 222
Default

Upgrade to Windows 7 on older PC?


Yes, I had used that Crucial tool and I now that I think about it, that may have been the source of that recommendation. I may have talked to someone there too.

Eagle One is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8 Upgrade user1007 PC Repairs & Upgrades 28 12-20-2012 07:26 AM
Can you flash replacement windows with existing siding? twobyfour2 Windows and Doors 3 05-31-2011 09:29 PM
Older home wiring upgrade - necessary? debiasio Electrical 4 06-29-2010 09:55 AM
Windows XP Mode in Windows 7! poppameth PC Repairs & Upgrades 5 04-28-2009 12:18 PM
How do I install new windows? RickT Carpentry 17 10-12-2006 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.