Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 07:48 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Types of Cat 5


If you do run phone, to save money I would just run a 4 wire flat 18 awg solid phone cable there. If its just telephone, no need for twisted pair.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 07:54 PM   #17
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
If you do run phone, to save money I would just run a 4 wire flat 18 awg solid phone cable there. If its just telephone, no need for twisted pair.

I had the phone company run the line when they did my house. So I already have a phone out there. The wife loves it, she will call me from her cell phone to bother me when ever I seem to be really busy.
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 08:05 PM   #18
Geek for Hire
 
Rasputin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by brokenknee View Post
In my case the labor is free, it is the material that cost.

Hey Rasputin, you a history buff or just want to be associated with someone that was more than a little weird?
It's my fraternity nickname because I look like him. Rasputin got a bum rap.
Rasputin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 08:17 PM   #19
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
It's my fraternity nickname because I look like him. Rasputin got a bum rap.
I should have thought it would be something like that. Screen names can be interesting.
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 09:46 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by brokenknee View Post
I was doing a little more research on the direct burial cat 5e. In an old forum (2002?) on another board it was suggested that you use direct burial even inside conduit. The claim was the moisture in the lines could effect the regular cable?

I also seen there is two different types of direct burial, foil wrapped and gel filled. Is one preferred over the other? It did not seam there was much if any cost difference between the two.

Just to clarify, I can run one cable, connect a router, then run two separate computers off that (either wired or wireless)? The cable to the shed would run back to the router in the house.
All conduit will get water in it at some point in time, so you need to run cable rated to be submerged. I have run regular cat5 in conduit and within a few years it had to be replaced due to water penetration.

In your case, I would run direct burial cat5 (gel filled) in conduit to your location. (I have done the same thing before and will be doing it again this spring to my 40x68 shop).

Yes, you only need one cable between the house and the shop. You can terminate it into a switch/router and share as many network devices (PCs) as you wish in the workshop. if you setup a wireless router out there you will need to put it in gateway mode.

As others have said, run at least two cables...and maybe even an RG6 coax...in case you want to extend cable out there or put a security camera in.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest

Last edited by AndrewF; 01-04-2009 at 09:49 PM.
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 04:56 AM   #21
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Types of Cat 5


Thank you,

I will run an RG6 out there for satellite TV. That is one thing I did not think of. Maybe I will pull two cat5 cables out there.

I am going to check the price difference between regular and direct burial. Even though my labor is free, it is something I would prefer not to have to do twice.
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:51 AM   #22
Geek for Hire
 
Rasputin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by brokenknee View Post
Thank you,

I will run an RG6 out there for satellite TV. That is one thing I did not think of. Maybe I will pull two cat5 cables out there.

I am going to check the price difference between regular and direct burial. Even though my labor is free, it is something I would prefer not to have to do twice.
Gel-filled is good stuff. Most of our large cable runs (50 and 100 pair) that are direct bury are gel filled. It just makes a nasty mess when you're terminating it. Bring lots of paper towels.
Rasputin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 11:30 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Types of Cat 5


Use some gel filled cat 5e, and gel filled rg/6.

Make sure the splices are not exposed to sun, don't want that gel oozing out of the connections!
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 06:59 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids, Ia
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Types of Cat 5


You might want to ground your termination points also. Grounding your cat5 and RG-6 is a good thing at both ends
JMATT01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:27 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by JMATT01 View Post
You might want to ground your termination points also. Grounding your cat5 and RG-6 is a good thing at both ends
I take issue with this, as a ground at both ends of communications cable allows longitudinal noise to travel. At one time I spent more than two months removing grounds at one end of cables, when I worked for the telco!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:41 PM   #26
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Types of Cat 5


How would one go about grounding the Cat5 and the RG6? Is there a separate ground wire that runs with them?

I have not worked with Cat5 before but I have run some RG6 and did not see an additional wire to ground it.
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:17 PM   #27
Geek for Hire
 
Rasputin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
I take issue with this, as a ground at both ends of communications cable allows longitudinal noise to travel. At one time I spent more than two months removing grounds at one end of cables, when I worked for the telco!
Seconded. You don't ground the cable, you ground the equipment rack. In your case, it's a home installation so it's totally unneeded.
Rasputin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:24 PM   #28
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
Seconded. You don't ground the cable, you ground the equipment rack. In your case, it's a home installation so it's totally unneeded.
So I do not even need one ground then?
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:30 PM   #29
Geek for Hire
 
Rasputin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Types of Cat 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by brokenknee View Post
So I do not even need one ground then?
Grounds and lightning protection aren't used on the cable. In my experience transient voltage will travel down the cable and knock out equipment when the rack is grounded...we had several bad lighting strikes summer of 2001, knocked out 5 dorms because the strike traveled through and into the equipment, but the cable run itself was fine. Literally fried about $40,000 worth of gear (3Com Superstack-II 1100s).

The only time I've ever had to have cable replaced is when it's too brittle from exposure to the elements (like in attics, etc) and a pair cracks enough to prevent connection. Then I whip out my Fluke and call the warranty contractor.
Rasputin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:49 PM   #30
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Types of Cat 5


Use solid gel filled run in conduit, grounding not necessary, run more wire than you think you need, no splicing, no connections exposed to the sun, can use router to act as gateway to run more than one device, run rg6 for satellite TV.

Did I miss anything?

__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What types of wood is used in your area? bluefitness Building & Construction 7 12-21-2008 11:16 PM
Different types of hardwood Daggerhart Flooring 6 06-15-2008 09:33 AM
Code question regarding AFCI combination types and the 2005 NEC MattOverMinder Electrical 2 12-14-2007 04:10 PM
Types of Earwigs and features of Earwigs Pholma Pris Pest Control 4 11-20-2007 06:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.