Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2011, 01:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


hello,i have a toshiba satellite a205,when i start it up for the first time each day the keyboard stops responding within the hour and no keys work,so i have to shut it down and reboot. then usually no more problems the rest of the day.

jnjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 01:40 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


Hi and welcome to the foprum.

More input please. What OS? XP? Vista? Win7?
How long has this been happening?
Have you recently installed anything new?
Do you have external mouse and/or keyboard?
www.malwarebytes.org to test for malware, it could be virally related.
Try antivirus scans as well.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


thanks for the welcome.i have windows vista.its been going on for months now and i even wiped the harddrive and reinstalled everything from recovery disks but it didn't help,oh and she uses a wireless mouse with usb dongle
jnjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:41 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


Remove USB mouse and or keys and boot it up. If it does not do it, then the mouse could be the culprit.
What brand mouse is it? I use Logitech myself. Let us know what happens, ok?

Thanks!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:42 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


Of course, since it's vista....... well, you know....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


yep i want windows 7 lol, its a newer logitech mouse and keyboard combo.ok will do but it won't start acting up again until tomorrow it allready performed its trick for the day but we'll let you know,thanks
jnjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:54 PM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


so.... the REMOTE keyboard stops working? What about the keys on the machine when this happens?
Do they still work correctly?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 07:22 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


no,she only uses the mouse part of the combo and uses the toshiba keyboard.its the laptops keyboard that stops working.i was thinking and could it be the logitech software causing the problem?

Last edited by jnjw; 06-12-2011 at 07:29 PM.
jnjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 07:40 PM   #9
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


Did it require an install from a cd? They're usually PnP.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:02 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


we did use the disk that came with it. actually im going to uninstall the software and just use a usb corded mouse and see what happens.im really thinking it might be hardware like a keyboard controller maybe
jnjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:08 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


That's what I would try first off. Sounds like a Vista/software conflict problem.

Go figure....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:11 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


we'll see so far so good
jnjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:03 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


hello it's me again,it still stops responding.got any ideas?
jnjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:08 PM   #14
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


hmmmmmmmm
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:19 PM   #15
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

toshiba satellite keyboard stops responding


Is it exactly an hour to when it goes out?

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.