Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2007, 12:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thunder and lightning then throw out???


Hi there,
i hope someone can sort out this problem for me ive spoke about this problem before but did not know about one piece of crutial info - so the PC in question is totally dead - now we think there was a thunderstorm in the area since last use but i have a surge protector connected which i got with the computer
- should this not have protected it?
- now both the power supply and HD are still fine
- if a powersurge due to lightning was the issue would the powersupply not have gone first??
i have also had a close look at the motherboard and found what looks like a burnt out component which i have taken pics of, PLEASE SEE THE ATTACHED PHOTOS - is this the problem and if so, is it fixable??
any help anyone can give would be very appreciative!!

lostintrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 12:25 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thunder and lightning then throw out???



lostintrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 10:04 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

thunder and lightning then throw out???


A surge protector won't protect against a direct lightning strike. It's more for the power fluctuations the power company sends out.
steve771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 08:05 PM   #4
Member
 
NothingsLevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Palmyra, NY
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

thunder and lightning then throw out???


Quote:
Originally Posted by steve771 View Post
A surge protector won't protect against a direct lightning strike. It's more for the power fluctuations the power company sends out.
And to truly protect against those, you really ought to have a UPS with line conditioning.
NothingsLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.