Should I Exchange 64-bit PC For 32-bit - PC Repairs & Upgrades - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 11:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


Hi there! I need some advice and everything I read online is confusing me more.

Over the weekend I bought a PC online. I got it today and found out that it's 64-bit and I don't know if I should exchange it for something that's 32-bit or keep it. I'll try to give all the pertinant details.



I got a new computer because my current one is only 512 MB RAM and it throws a hissy-fit if I have more than two programs open at once.

I mainly use my computer for internet, Microsoft Office, and digital photos.

I got the new computer online as a "Black-Friday" deal for $399 without monitor. Everywhere else I'd looked, a 2 GB Memory was going to run about $450+, so I thought I 3 GB Memory for $400 was good. I didn't even notice it was 64-bit until it arrived.

Please take a look at the specs below then give me your opinion. THANK YOU!





The specs on the new computer:
~Intel Pentium dual-core processor E2200 operating at 2.2GHz
~1MB L2 cache
~800MHz frontside bus
~3GB of PC2-6400 DDR2 SDRAM memory (2GB + 1GB); maximum memory capacity: 4GB
~320GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA (SATA) hard drive
~LightScribe SuperMulti DVD drive (reads/writes DVD±R/RW, DVD-RAM, DVD±R Double Layer, CD-R/RW)
~Front-panel 15-in-1 memory card reader
~56K V.920 modem
~10/100Base-T Ethernet network interface (RJ-45)
~6 USB 2.0 ports (2 front, 4 back)
~2 FireWire (IEEE 1394) ports (1 front, 1 back)
~2 PS/2 ports
~nVidia GeForce 7100 Graphics with TurboCache, with 128MB dedicated video memory and up to 1343MB total available (including shared)
~High Definition Audio, 8 speaker configurable
~Audio ports: Digital audio in/out, microphone input, line-in and line-out jacks; Rear speaker out, Side speaker out, Center (subwoofer) out
~HP multimedia keyboard
~HP optical mouse
~Microsoft® Windows Vista® Home Premium 64-bit with Service Pack 1 comes pre-installed, providing support for extra-large memory and high performance for demanding applications. Other software included: ~Microsoft Works 9
~Muvee autoProducer Basic
~Cyberlink DVD Suite Deluxe
~Adobe® Reader 8
~Norton Internet Security™ 2008 (trial, with 60 days of free updates)

Advertisement


Last edited by MeraleeCrowl; 12-02-2008 at 11:56 PM.
MeraleeCrowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


I only run 64 bit Server OS's so I can't speak from experience with Vista of XP but I can offer a suggestion.

Do you have a non OEM copy of 32 bit Vista or XP? If so, load it up instead then install all the needed drivers for your hardware. The 64 bit processor will run the 32 bit versions no problem.

Personally, I'd give the 64 bit version a try to see if it works with everything I want to run on it. If not, install a 32 bit os.

Advertisement

KHouse75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:58 AM   #3
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


A lot of new rigs are shipping with 64 bit OS now. Vista is getting to the point where it can benefit from 4 gigs of RAM. A 32 bit OS is limited to seeing a little over 3 gigs. Anything more is wasted. I've set up a few of these rigs now and haven't had any compatibility issues.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 12:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


I'm disappointed at 64 bit windows vista...what a waste of $180.

I guess I will wait for updates...frequent lockups with 32 bit software plague my system.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 05:23 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
...frequent lockups with 32 bit software...
What kinds of software?
MeraleeCrowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 06:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by MeraleeCrowl View Post
What kinds of software?
I have had firefox crash, Crysis (game), some data editors, some drivers. The driver support isn't good. I have updated some things and firefox is not crashing on me so often. Crysis is still crashing. And the editors will crash. I think alot of it is driver related.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 07:27 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


I have a 64 Bit AMD processor and Vista 32 Ultimate. No problems here.
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 08:06 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by polarzak View Post
I have a 64 Bit AMD processor and Vista 32 Ultimate. No problems here.

Its because your only using 32 bit. When you have a 64 bit cpu, but 32 bit operating system, you only use 32 bit software and drivers.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 08:21 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Its because your only using 32 bit. When you have a 64 bit cpu, but 32 bit operating system, you only use 32 bit software and drivers.
I know THAT! Just making a comment. This is not my first PC ever owned. Still have a DOS based 286 in the basement. "What is THAT?' you say?
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 10:17 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 208
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by MeraleeCrowl View Post
Hi there! I need some advice and everything I read online is confusing me more.

Over the weekend I bought a PC online. I got it today and found out that it's 64-bit and I don't know if I should exchange it for something that's 32-bit or keep it. I'll try to give all the pertinant details.



I got a new computer because my current one is only 512 MB RAM and it throws a hissy-fit if I have more than two programs open at once.

I mainly use my computer for internet, Microsoft Office, and digital photos.

I got the new computer online as a "Black-Friday" deal for $399 without monitor. Everywhere else I'd looked, a 2 GB Memory was going to run about $450+, so I thought I 3 GB Memory for $400 was good. I didn't even notice it was 64-bit until it arrived.

Please take a look at the specs below then give me your opinion. THANK YOU!





The specs on the new computer:
~Intel Pentium dual-core processor E2200 operating at 2.2GHz
~1MB L2 cache
~800MHz frontside bus
~3GB of PC2-6400 DDR2 SDRAM memory (2GB + 1GB); maximum memory capacity: 4GB
~320GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA (SATA) hard drive
~LightScribe SuperMulti DVD drive (reads/writes DVD±R/RW, DVD-RAM, DVD±R Double Layer, CD-R/RW)
~Front-panel 15-in-1 memory card reader
~56K V.920 modem
~10/100Base-T Ethernet network interface (RJ-45)
~6 USB 2.0 ports (2 front, 4 back)
~2 FireWire (IEEE 1394) ports (1 front, 1 back)
~2 PS/2 ports
~nVidia GeForce 7100 Graphics with TurboCache, with 128MB dedicated video memory and up to 1343MB total available (including shared)
~High Definition Audio, 8 speaker configurable
~Audio ports: Digital audio in/out, microphone input, line-in and line-out jacks; Rear speaker out, Side speaker out, Center (subwoofer) out
~HP multimedia keyboard
~HP optical mouse
~Microsoft® Windows Vista® Home Premium 64-bit with Service Pack 1 comes pre-installed, providing support for extra-large memory and high performance for demanding applications. Other software included: ~Microsoft Works 9
~Muvee autoProducer Basic
~Cyberlink DVD Suite Deluxe
~Adobe® Reader 8
~Norton Internet Security™ 2008 (trial, with 60 days of free updates)
It is a good machine that you purchased, and the price seems good. However, if the reason for buying it was the 512 mb RAM on your original machine, you could have purchased more RAM much more cheaply.

What is spec for old machine?
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:46 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


Good specs...64 bit should suit you just fine.

The reason my pc throws fits is because I have very new hardware (with very young drivers)
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:34 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Should I exchange 64-bit PC for 32-bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by orange View Post
What is spec for old machine?
HP Pavilion
Intel Pentium 4 2 GHz
248 MB RAM
Windows XP 2002
60 something GB hard drive
CD-R
DVD player
3.5 floppy

Advertisement

MeraleeCrowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
horizontal loop system for under ground heat exchange jerry b Building & Construction 1 01-22-2008 08:04 AM
Coleman Gas Furnace - Freezing, Need Help! Ol'Jim HVAC 8 12-31-2007 12:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts