SD Card From Camera Will Not Appear On Monitor - PC Repairs & Upgrades - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 06:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default

SD card from camera will not appear on monitor


Hi People,

Anybody know where I should turn- when I place my sdhc card from my camera into the "memory stick"slot in computer, nothing comes up on my monitor. Where should I start to troubleshoot? the green light does come on.....

Thanks

Advertisement

__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 09:05 PM   #2
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default


open my computer ( if using windows)

insert card

look for a new drive to appear.

Advertisement

bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bbo For This Useful Post:
noquacks (06-26-2012)
Old 06-27-2012, 07:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by bbo View Post
open my computer ( if using windows)

insert card

look for a new drive to appear.
OK, tried it, and nothing hapens- nothing appears on "computer"...........
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:14 PM   #4
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,921
Rewards Points: 1,268
Default


Are you sure the card is pushed in all the way? Does the media reader work with any other cards?
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Clutchcargo For This Useful Post:
noquacks (06-29-2012)
Old 06-27-2012, 10:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Just read it in the camera. A lot easier and safer, than removing and inserting into the computer. Also, what Operating System are you running?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
noquacks (06-29-2012)
Old 06-29-2012, 02:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
Are you sure the card is pushed in all the way? Does the media reader work with any other cards?
Yup- green light even turns on when inserted. Havnt tried other cards.......done have any.
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 02:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Just read it in the camera. A lot easier and safer, than removing and inserting into the computer. Also, what Operating System are you running?
Using Vista. Still, I would like to know why isnt computer working with this .....

Thanks for helping.
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Card reader driver most likely. What is the manufacturer & model # of the computer? Did Vista come with the computer when you got the machine originally, or did you or someone else load it up on the hard drive that is in the machine?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll
Just read it in the camera. A lot easier and safer, than removing and inserting into the computer.
I've never heard this. Why is it safer?
thinksincode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:21 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by noquacks

Using Vista. Still, I would like to know why isnt computer working with this .....

Thanks for helping.
Does your computer make a "ding" sound when you insert the card? If not, Windows may not be recognizing the device.

Is the card reader built in to your computer or does it plug in with a cable?
thinksincode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by thinksincode View Post
I've never heard this. Why is it safer?
I do it that way, our professional photog friend does it that way, unless she is reading off of cards that are not in the camera, so do 100's of 1000's of others do it that way. It is not going to screw things up, reading the card while it is in the device.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 11:28 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll
I do it that way, our professional photog friend does it that way, unless she is reading off of cards that are not in the camera, so do 100's of 1000's of others do it that way. It is not going to screw things up, reading the card while it is in the device.
I know, but I'm just saying it's no more or less safe. In both cases, from the OS point of view, it's just talking to a USB mass storage device.
thinksincode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 07:19 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,062
Default


No "ding" when card is pushed in. Costco computer maybe 3 yrs old. It came all installed with card reader factory. Vista came with computer- we did not install.

Loks like a bad card reader, guys?
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 07:53 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 318
Default


You could have a compatibility problem:

http://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/de...-read-4gb,-8gb,

It looks like you can get adapters to fit in the USB port for $10 dollars or less.
tribe_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 01:17 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by noquacks View Post
No "ding" when card is pushed in. Costco computer maybe 3 yrs old. It came all installed with card reader factory. Vista came with computer- we did not install.

Loks like a bad card reader, guys?
Costco does not make computers, they sell them though. Possibly bad reader, but most likely bad driver for the reader. Go to the manufacturer website. If a HP/Compaq, go to Hp.com. If a dell, dell.com, so on.

Advertisement

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making a waterproof/weatherproof enclosures for a network camera & its power hub snowfall Building & Construction 0 05-02-2011 11:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1