Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2007, 04:19 PM   #16
Fire Fighter-
 
Klint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East, Texas
Posts: 57
Share |
Default

RAM for more speed


Quote:
Originally Posted by shyampc View Post
I am using Windows XP, and find my PC very slow in all operations since after started using this. Formerly, I was using Windows 98 SE, and there was no any problems. I think that this is due to lesser RAM (only 256 MB). Can anyone help me to know the cost of 512 MB SDRAM? Can anyone recommend some reputed websites that sell these sort of PC components for reasonable price?
Hey Another thing you might want to try is the following

Right Click My Computer
Click Properties
Click the Advanced Tab
Click the Settings button under the "Performance section"
Click Adjust for Best performance
finally click Ok, ok, and that may help alittle. Run Disk clean up aswell which can be found in Accessory's System Tools

Thanks,
Klint Turney (CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Microsoft Certified Professonal, Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator, Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer)

__________________
Thanks,
Klint T.
Klint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 06:13 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

RAM for more speed


Thank you, I 've just tried this. Hope this will help me to gain some speed.
shyampc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 09:15 AM   #18
Member
 
fierysun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vegas Baby!
Posts: 82
Default

RAM for more speed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Klint View Post
Hey Another thing you might want to try is the following

Right Click My Computer
Click Properties
Click the Advanced Tab
Click the Settings button under the "Performance section"
Click Adjust for Best performance
finally click Ok, ok, and that may help alittle. Run Disk clean up aswell which can be found in Accessory's System Tools

Thanks,
Klint Turney (CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Microsoft Certified Professonal, Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator, Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer)
Good call Klint. First thing I do is Defrag the hard drive and clean up the registry, Registry Mechanic does an decent job of this if your not familiar with editing the registry. I would recommend a gig of RAM. I've bought from newegg.com and tigerdirect.com and have been happy with both.
__________________
Trying to keep all my fingers and toes
Personal site
fierysun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 11:06 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

RAM for more speed


Capacity and speed are 2 different but somewhat related areas.

XP needs a bare min of 512GB of RAM (physical memory) to run "normal" software. This speed you r3fer to is the PROCESSOR SPEED....rated in GHz.
Get atleast a 2.5GHz P4 Processor.

Better yet, go to a reputible shop in your area. Tell them what you are going to use the PC for, they build you a very nice one....that will WORK...
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 10:31 AM   #20
Newbie
 
feloneouscat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default

RAM for more speed


Just some basics - these apply whether it is Linux, MacOS or Windows:

The more RAM the better. The reason is that the more applications you have running, the more the system uses the swap area on the hard drive. Whenever you have to use the swap area, you take a hit in speed (hard drives are much, much slower than RAM).

512 isn't really good for XP. Yes, it will run, but it won't run very well. Microsoft is very, very bad about giving the MINIMUM to run the OS, but not the minimum to run the OS AND applications. Some call it marketing. I call it rubbish.

Also, many note (but do not explain) why defragmenting your hard drive helps: it is because it moves your swap space into the same area. This limits the amount of movement the hard drive head has to make which basically means the swap operates faster.

Next to more RAM is a better hard drive. Yes, there IS a difference between hard drives. A drive running at 5400 RPM is going to do worse than 7200 RPM. If your drive is over 5 years old (and you would not believe how many people's drives ARE that old), it is time to get a new model. This can dramatically change how the system runs.

I could go into other details, but I have a real job I need to get back to...

Cheers!
feloneouscat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 05:35 PM   #21
Member
 
NothingsLevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Palmyra, NY
Posts: 84
Default

RAM for more speed


If your computer is old enough to have come with Win98SE, just buy a new one. It'll be easier & you'll ultimately be much happier. You can get a decent laptop for home use nowadays for under $1000.

The real trick, though, is finding a vendor that will sell you a system with Windows XP on it. I think Dell still does.
NothingsLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 05:48 AM   #22
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

RAM for more speed


Yep if you go through Dell's small business sight you can still configure them with XP Pro.

  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are variable speed HVAC units worth the $$$? Jemo HVAC 9 05-07-2011 04:10 PM
Heat Pump blower speed? ktkelly HVAC 1 07-18-2007 10:01 PM
Slowing fan motor speed in air handler Manuel6 HVAC 7 04-17-2007 09:01 AM
Fan speed low... ktkelly HVAC 2 04-11-2007 07:34 PM
Speed control of ceiling fan pjpjpjpj Electrical 7 03-19-2007 03:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.