Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2007, 11:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

RAM for more speed


I am using Windows XP, and find my PC very slow in all operations since after started using this. Formerly, I was using Windows 98 SE, and there was no any problems. I think that this is due to lesser RAM (only 256 MB). Can anyone help me to know the cost of 512 MB SDRAM? Can anyone recommend some reputed websites that sell these sort of PC components for reasonable price?
shyampc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 12:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

RAM for more speed


Do you have any stores in your area that sell computers?
They should sell ram and it should be around $50 or more.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 01:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

RAM for more speed


Thank you for the response - but, do you know/recommend any reputed websites that sell branded spares at reasonable prices?
shyampc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 03:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

RAM for more speed


sounds like your computer is pretty old.... why not get a good used one from Ebay... I spent approx 200 and somthing for a complete fast XP system for my in laws last Nov and it is still going...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 05:19 PM   #5
weekend warrior
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 186
Default

RAM for more speed


256mb is pretty much inadequate for xp (no officially though). 512 would be better.

Hands down, newegg.com is the biggest/best supplier of computer parts. I've bought dozens of things there, never had a problem.

When you say SDRAM you probably have 168-pin, pc100 or pc133 speed. (they're interchangeable)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146302
that's $28.99 for 256MB more, a good brand too

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146304
$60.00 for 512mb

The shipping is always cheap, and you can just add it to your existing ram, so you'll be at 512/768mb respectively.

To be extra sure, why don't you post the model of your computer, I can double check if that's what you'll need...
johnny331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 05:55 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

RAM for more speed


My PC is P4 1.7 Ghz with 256 MB of RAM and Asus motherboard. I need SDRAM. Now all computers use DDRRAM. I think that the amount you quoted is reasonable for 256 MB, but more price charged on 512 MB.
shyampc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 07:37 AM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

RAM for more speed


go to www.crucial.com and you can use their memory selector to find what you need by brand. If it's custom built, download a program called CPU-Z from here: http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
It'll give you all the info you need on your RAM to find compatible product. Post the info here if you like and we'll find the right stuff for you. Most likely you'll need DDR400. You can get Corsair's value ram at Newegg for a fair price.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 07:40 AM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

RAM for more speed


Here is an example of good cheap RAM that will "probably" work in your system. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145026
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 07:46 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

RAM for more speed


Thank you all for your support and help. I will try those. I am also planning to buy a new PC. Hope this will solve the speed problems. Also, spares are priced higher for older Pc's compared to new ones'.
shyampc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 09:21 AM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

RAM for more speed


Yes with RAM is evidently cost more for older modules because they are made in small runs instead of bulk. Still your rig doesn't sound old enough to get into the really expensive RAM yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 10:53 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

RAM for more speed


Yes, SDRAM is still readily available, but I think that comparitively it is expensive than DDR RAM. As time goes, it will bev more costly to afford it with an old machine.
shyampc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 08:26 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
Default

RAM for more speed


My parents have an AMD Thunderbird 1.2 Ghz machine w/ PC-100 or 133 SDRAM. Can't remember which. When they got it, it had 128MB. My dad put a gig in it about 2 years ago, and it runs XP like a champ. It's their second computer, and is mostly used for web browsing and office apps.

Depending on what you use the computer for (i.e. no gaming), I'd go ahead and put a gig in the machine. It will fly compared to what it's doing now.

I just priced the RAM at newegg, and it looks like it will run you about $100 for a gig. That's pretty steep. I just bought 2 gigs of DDR-2 800 MHz RAM for a new build for myself for about that.

Open up the case and locate the model number of the motherboard. It'll be printed on the board somewhere. Then goto the manufacturer's website, or google it and find out the capacity of your RAM slots.
lhoney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 01:16 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

RAM for more speed


Thank you for your help and suggestions. I will either increase my RAM or else buy a new PC. I think any of these will solve the problem with speed.
shyampc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:48 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 6
Default

RAM for more speed


Quote:
Originally Posted by shyampc View Post
Thank you for your help and suggestions. I will either increase my RAM or else buy a new PC. I think any of these will solve the problem with speed.
Like said Newegg is a great website for most all of your computer needs.
Best way to assure what ram will 'play nice' with your motherboard is to go to your motherboard site or when in doub't go to Crucials web site and put in your comp. info to see what ram will be good for your rig.
XP does require more ram than any version of Windows 98.
BTW: You can mix pc100 with pc133 but your rig will run at the 'lowest' speed of the lowest ram you have in it.

Last edited by Cement Man; 07-30-2007 at 09:53 PM. Reason: add info
Cement Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 12:31 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

RAM for more speed


Thank you for the response and advice. I am planning to buy a new PC or to upgrade RAM to 512 MB/1GB. Hope this will be sufficient for required speed.
shyampc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are variable speed HVAC units worth the $$$? Jemo HVAC 9 05-07-2011 04:10 PM
Heat Pump blower speed? ktkelly HVAC 1 07-18-2007 10:01 PM
Slowing fan motor speed in air handler Manuel6 HVAC 7 04-17-2007 09:01 AM
Fan speed low... ktkelly HVAC 2 04-11-2007 07:34 PM
Speed control of ceiling fan pjpjpjpj Electrical 7 03-19-2007 03:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.